Cumberworth, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Cumberworth
Cumberworth, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Huddersfield PLU
Registration District Huddersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see High Hoyland and also Silkstone
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Cumberworth, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Cumberworth is a chapelry of High Holand ancient parish and Silkstone ancient parish.

CUMBERWORTH, a chapelry, partly in the parish of High Hoyland, and partly in that of Silkstone, wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 8 miles (W.) from Barnsley; containing 1867 inhabitants. [1] CUMBERWORTH, a township-chapelry in Silkstone and High Hoyland parishes, W. R. Yorkshire; on the Huddersfield and Sheffield railway, near Denby-Dale r. station, and 8 miles SE of Huddersfield. It includes parts of the hamlets of Skelmanthorpe and Scissett; the former of which has a post office under Huddersfield. The church is Norman. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a P. Methodist chapel,  and a free Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Cumberworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 CUMBERWORTH CHAPELRY (1708) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1708-1812 1708-1812 1708-1812 1708-1812 1708-1812 1708-1812
FS 1708-1912

1708-1912

1708-1930

JOIN None

1813-1837

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Silkstone to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SILKSTONE PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464274.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., , A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 751-755. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 23 April 2013.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,509 times.