Cundall, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Cundall

Guide to Cundall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cundall, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth; Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Ripon PLU
Registration District Ripon; Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Boroughbridge
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cundall is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

CUNDALL (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, comprising the townships of Cundall with Leckby, and Norton-le-Clay, in the wapentake of Hallikeld, and the township of Fawdington in that of Birdforth, N. riding of York; and containing 387 inhabitants, of whom 188 are in Cundall with Leckby, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Boroughbridge. [1]

CUNDALL, a township in Ripon district, and a parish in Ripon and Thirsk districts, N. R. Yorkshire. The township bears the name of Cundall-with-Leckby; and lies on the river Swale, 2 miles NNW of Brafferton r. station, and 4¼ NNE of Boroughbridge. The parish contains also the townships of Norton-le-Clay and Fawdington; and its post town is Topcliffe, under Thirsk. There are two churches.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Cundall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 CUNDALL PARISH (1582) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1582-1877 1582-1877 1582-1876 1582-1876 1582-1803 1582-1803
FS 1582-1877

1582-1876

1582-1803

JOIN None

1582-1837

None

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1582.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 751-755. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 23 April 2013.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,681 times.