Currituck County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Currituck County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Currituck County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Currituck County Courthouse
Currituck, NC 27929
1820 Census Missing
Court house burned 1842
Registrar of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and probate records
Currituck was formed in 1668 as a precinct in Albemarle County. It was named in honor of an Indian tribe. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean, Albemarle Sound, Camden County, and the state of Virginia. The present area is 273 square miles and the population is 6,709. Currituck Court House, mentioned as early as 1755, is the county seat.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Guide to Research at the North Carolina Archives [list of original & microfilm records]
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Currituck Co., NC Bonds [Administrators, Bastardy, Constables, & Guardian]
Census and Tax Records
For tips on accessing Currituck County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church of England
- Currituck Parish. Established by 1710.
- Various Currituck Co., NC family pages
- [Ballance] Pierce, Alycon Trubey. "The Ballance Family of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1994):3-20; Vol. 38, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1994):105-114. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 38 (1994).
Jones, Gordon C.: .Abstracts of land-grants, tax lists, orphans dockets, inventories and other records, : Currituck and Dare counties, North Carolina, 1666-1831 Chesapeak, Virginia, G.C.Jones c1982) pages 91 FHL Book 976.6132 P28
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company E
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company G
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
Newspapers & Obituaries
Organizations & Links
Photographs & Biographies
- Currituck Co., NC Vital Records [Births, Marriages & Deaths]
- Currituck Co., NC Bastardy Bonds 1830-1871 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1867-1952 - Currituck County Marriage Books B and 2 Index 1867-1952 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Wills & Estates
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Currituck County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1761-1960 - Will Books 1 to 8 (1761-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Currituck Co., NC Wills & Estates (NCGenWeb Project)
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Currituck County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Currituck County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490, 2:563. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 497. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 13,954 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More