Cury, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Cury, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cury, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Helston PLU
Registration District Helston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690; Separate registers exist for Gunwalloe beginning 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; Separate records exist for Gunwalloe beginning 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CURY (St. Ninian), a parish, in the union of Helston, W. division of Kerrier hundred and of Cornwall, 4¾ miles (S. S. E.) from Helston. The old living is a vicarage, annexed, with the livings of Germoe and Gunwalloe, to the vicarage of Breage. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cury, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
Cury, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1673, 1690-1837

COPC 1676-1913
1676-1904
1676-1772, 1813-1938
CPRI 1813-1901
1837-1904
1840-1904
FMP 1676-1875 1625-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1813-1875
1608-1837
1813-1901
FS PRs 1690-1875 1690-1838, 1894-1900 1690-1901
IGI 1676-1687, 1690-1875 1676-1687, 1691-1875

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 45

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The Cury section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241260.

Poor Law Unions

Helston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Cury in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 751-755. Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,882 times.