Cusop, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Cusop, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cusop, Herefordshire
Cusop St+Mary Herefordshire.JPG
Cusop St+Mary Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ewyas-Lacey
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hay PLU
Registration District Hay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1709
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CUSOP (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Hay, hundred of Ewyaslacy, county of Hereford, 2 miles from Hay. [1]

Cusop St Mary is an Ancient Parish; the church dates from the early 12th century and was restored in 1857 and 1961 and has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage.

British Listed building

Cusop Wikipedia

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Cusop like this:

CUSOP, a parish in the district of Hay and county of Hereford; at the boundary with Brecon, near the Hereford and Brecon railway, 1¼ mile ESE of Hay. Post town, Hay, under Hereford. Acres, 2, 294. Real property, £2, 260. Pop., 218. Houses, 55. The property is much subdivided. The scenery is very beautiful. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Hereford. Value, £203. Patron, the Earl of Oxford. The church is old but good.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionCusop

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288815.

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

Poor Law Unions

See Breconshire Poor Law Unions Hay Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cusop

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 751-755. Accessed and adapted 30 July, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,388 times.