Custer County, South Dakota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Custer County, South Dakota)

United States go to South Dakota go to Custer County

Guide to Custer County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Custer County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Custer County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 11, 1875
County Seat Custer
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Custer Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Contents

County Courthouse

Custer County Courthouse
420 Mt Rushmore Road
Custer, SD 57730
Phone: 605.673.4816

Clerk Courts has birth and death records from 1905,
marriage records from 1887, divorce, probate and court
records from 189[1]

History

Parent County

1875--Custer County was created 11 January 1875 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Custer [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Argyle

Berne

BlueBell

Buffalo Gap

Cold Spring

Custer

Danoby

Fairburn

Folsom

Four Mile

Hermosa

Ivanhoe

Nihart

Pringle

Sanator

Spokane

Vestal Springs

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Boot Hill

Cold Springs

Custer

Fairburn

Folsom

Hermosa

Highland Park

Junction City

Madill

Mallon

Old Custer City

Pringle

Census

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation Military Service

1905 state census with images can be viewed free at Record Search

1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1935 'state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Custer County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Custer County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Custer then click Probate records.

Online Records

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Custer County Historical Society
1881 Custer County Courthouse Museum
411 Mount Rushmore Rd.
PO Box 826
Custer, South Dakota 57730
Phone: (605) 673-2443
email:[1] or [2]
Website



Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Custer County, South Dakota, p.623
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 01:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,843 times.