Cwmyoy, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Cwmyoy, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cwmyoy, Herefordshire
Cwmyoy St+Martin Monmouthshire.JPG
Cwmyoy St+Martin Monmouthshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abergavenny; Ewyas-Lacey
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Abergavenny PLU
Registration District Abergavenny
Records begin
Parish registers: 1708
Bishop's Transcripts: 1687
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brecknock
Diocese St David's
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Brecon
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CWMYOY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, division, and hundred of Abergavenny, county of Monmouth, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Abergavenny. [1]

Cwmyoy Herefordshire refers to that part of the parish of  Cwymyoy which had been an exclave of Herefordshire until transfer into Monmouthshire Wales.

Cwmyoy Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kellys Directory for Monmouthshire

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionCwmyoy

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438842.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Cwmyoy/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 751-755. Accessed and adapted 30 July, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,131 times.