Czech Republic Church Books from the Praha City ArchiveEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Back to Czech Republic Page►
Praha City Archive is in the process of digitizing parish registers, civil registration and various other records for the city of Prague and making them available through their online digital archive.
Internet guide to the archival collection (The Catalogue) can be accessed here. The Catalogue is in Czech with only a few headings translated. Click the Collection of Registry Books link to access the database of parish and civil registration registers. You will have to check page by page until you locate the register. When you locate the register click on the image and then click Zobrazit digitální kopie (Display digital copies) .
You will need to know the call number (or signatura) of the register that you wish to see. The lists of parish and civil registers are available in PDF format. Click here to access the finding aid.
You may also browse using the Procházet a hledat (= Browse and Search) tab:
+Matriky = registers
+katolické = Roman Catholic
+nekatolické = Evangelical, Orthodox and Czechoslovak
+civilní = civil
Roman Catholic registers are further divided:
+'katolické' = Roman Catholic
+vnitřní obvody = inner districts
+vnější obvody = outer districts
Inner districts include Praha I - Staré Město, Praha II - Nové Město, Praha III - Malá Strana, Praha IV - Hradčany, and Praha VI - Vyšehrad.
Outer districts include Bohnice, Břevnov, Bubeneč, Čakovice, Dejvice, Dolní Počernice, Hloubětín, Holešovice, Hostivař, Chvaly, Jinonice, Karlín, Koloděje, Košíře, Kunratice, Kyje, Libeň, Liboc, Michle, Modřany, Nebušice, Nusle, Pankrác, Podolí, Prosek, Slivenec, Smíchov, Stodůlky, Střešovice (Andělka), Třeboradice, Uhříněves, Vinohrady, Vinoř, Vršovice, Zbraslav, Zlíchov, and Žižkov.
- This page was last modified on 9 October 2012, at 17:47.
- This page has been accessed 4,973 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News