Miami-Dade County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Florida
Miami-Dade County
Guide to Miami-Dade County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Miami-Dade County, Florida | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Florida | |||||||||
![]() Location of Florida in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | November 13, 1997 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Miami | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Miami-Dade County Courthouse
111 NW First St Ste 220
Miami, FL 33128
Phone:. 305.375.5124
Formerly Dade County named changed to Miami-Dade 2 Dec 1997
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Courthas divorce and land records from 1890.[1]
History
Renamed from Dade County 13 November 1997 by the voter referendum to acknowledge the international recognition of the name "Miami". The county at the formation 18 January 1836 included what are now Palm Beach and Brevard counties. Named for Maj. Francis L. Dade, a soldier killed in 1835 in the Second Seminole War.
Parent County
1997--Miami-Dade County was created 13 November 1997 from Monroe and Dade Counties. Dade County was renamed Miami-Dade.
County seat: Miami [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Woodlawn Park West, Hialeah BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Miami-Dade County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents.
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Court
Dade County Recorder's database contains official records recorded through 2/26/06 for Dade County Florida. All images of recorded documents going back to March 1st 1974, can now be viewed for free. Search is made by entering a name and if wished, a beginning and ending date, and either all documents or specifying which document is desired.
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Miami-Dade County Recorder's record search. This site allows you to make a search of their records which includes, deeds, probate, mortgages, etc. Some items are digizited for viewing.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Miami-Dade County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami-Dade County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Miami-Dade County, Florida Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records are held by the Miami-Dade County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Miami-Dade County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- Miami-Dade County Marriage License/Application Index. Searchable by name and approximate dates.
- 1905-1911 - Dade County Marriage Index 1905-1911. Batch M737502 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Homestead Florida Family History Center
- Miami Florida Family History Center
- Miami Lakes Florida Family History Center (Hialeah)
- Miami Shores Florida Family History Center (North Miami Beach)
Web Sites
- FLGenWeb
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWebs Archive Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Dade County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Miami-Dade County FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami Dade County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.
| This Florida-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 21:50.
- This page has been accessed 3,039 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

