Dallas County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Dallas County

Guide to Dallas County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Dallas County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Dallas County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 1, 1845
County Seat Fordyce
Courthouse
Address Dallas County Courthouse
206 W 3rd Street
Fordyce, AR 71742
Phone: 870.352.7179

Contents

County Courthouse

Dallas County Courthouse
206 W 3rd Street
Fordyce, AR 71742
Phone: 870.352.7179

County Clerk has marriage records from 1855, land records from 1845, probate, divorce and court records.[1]

Beginning years for Dallas County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1855 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

The County of Dallas in Arkansas, was created on 1 January 1845 from Bradley and Clark Counties. It was named for George Mifflin Dallas, who was vice-president under President James Polk. Dallas County is bound on the north by Hot Spring and Grant Counties; On the east by Cleveland County; on the south by Calhoun and Ouachita Counties; and on the west by Clark County. Dallas County is well watered by the Ouachita River on its west border, on the east by Moro creek and through the center are Saline, Cypress and Tulip creeks. Many fine springs are found all through the county. There are also many Sulphur springs, which discharging many hundreds of gallons of water per day.

Parent County

  • 1845--Dallas County was created 1 January 1845 from Clark and Bradley Counties.  County seat: Fordyce [3]

Boundary Changes

On the first US Census of the county in 1850, the following townships appeared: Moro, Champagne (Champagnolle), Polk, Jackson, Saline, Tulip, Owen, Manchester, Princeton, & Smith. In 1856, the townships of Champagne (Champagnolle), Moro and Polk went into the formation of Calhoun County. Later in 1873, Cleveland County annexed some of Dallas County. The County seat was located first at the house of Presley Watts, in Princeton, and then around 1910, it was moved to its present location of Fordyce.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Towns
  • Carthage
  • Sparkman
  • Tulip
Census Districts
  • Beech Grove
  • Bucksnort
  • Bunn
  • Cooney
  • Dalark
  • Eagletie
  • Fairview
  • Farindale
  • Forrest Bonner
  • Holly Springs
  • Ivan
  • Ivy
Communities
  • North Fordyce



Neighboring Counties

Calhoun  • Clark  • Cleveland  • Grant  • Hot Spring  • Ouachita

Dallas CountyCleveland CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyOuachita CountyNevada CountyClark CountyHot Spring CountyGarland CountyGrant CountyJefferson CountyLincoln CountyDrew CountyAshley CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyLafayette CountyHempstead CountyPike CountyMontgomery CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyARDallas.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Dallas County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dallas County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.Dallas County argenweb.net has many local and online resources including transcriptions of all the Goodspeed Biographies.

The site also has a list of towns and communities with short descriptions.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Native American tribes, primarily Caddo and Quapaw, lived, traveled, and hunted in the area now known as Dallas County.
  • 1812 - White settlement of the Ouachita River valley had begun .
  • 1840 - Very little settlement was in the area now known as Dallas County, but even those settlers were mostly farmers and their slaves.
  • 1845 January 1 - Dallas County was created from parts of Bradley and Clark counties.
  • 1860-1865 - About a third of the population left the area for Texas and Louisiana to avoid the fighting during the war. Many never returned.
  • 1881 - The construction of four major railroads began in Dallas County.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Dallas County peaked in 1930 with more than 14,500 people. In 2010 the population had dropped to just over 8,000.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Dallas County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dallas County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company C
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company A
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 12th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C

Naturalization

Newspapers

U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present from "Chronicling America, Historic American Newspapers" by the Library of Congress; results of search for Dallas County, Arkansas

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dallas County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1843-1921 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Appraisements 1845-1890; Probate records 1845-1896; Wills 1843-1921.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1846-present - Marriage Records, 1846-present (available online).

All others are available from the Dallas County Courthouse.

Death
  • 1918-1922 - Dallas County Death Index 1918-1922. Batch B737869 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Dallas County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Dallas County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Dallas County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Dallas County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Dallas County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
  7. 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 13:28.
  • This page has been accessed 12,270 times.