Dallas County, IowaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Iowa
Dallas County
Guide to Dallas County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Dallas County, Iowa | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Iowa | |
![]() Location of Iowa in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January, 1846 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Adel |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Dallas County Iowa Courthouse 801 Court Street Rm 203 P. O. Box 38 Adel, IA 50003 (515) 993-5804 |
County Courthouse
Dallas County Iowa Courthouse
801 Court Street Rm 203
P. O. Box 38
Adel, IA 50003
(515) 993-5804
History
Dallas County was named for George Mifflin Dallas, 11th Vice President of the United States of America, under President James K. Polk . The Early History of Dallas County article gives helpful informaton on the County's beginnings. Other statistical information can be found at Wikipedia.
Parent County
13 January 1846: Dallas County was created from unorganized territory. It was attached to Polk and Mahaska Counties prior to organization 1 March 1847. [1]
Boundary Changes
15 January 1851: Greene County was set off.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities:
Townships
Unincorporated community
Neighboring Counties
Adair | Boone | Greene | Guthrie | Madison | Polk | Warren
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Dexter Cemetery, Dexter BillionGraves
- Iowa Veterans Cemetery, Van Meter BillionGraves
Census
Census
Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.
Church History and Records
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
- Methodist
- Methodist Episcopal
- Presbyterian
- Cumberland Presbyterian
- United Brethren in Christ
Court Records
- Court Records
- Divorce Records
- Guardianship
Funeral Homes
Genealogy
Also see: Biography, History
Land and Deed Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Dallas County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
Maps
David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures. This Collection features the cities of Altoona and Adel.
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- Altoona Public Library Archives, Polk County (1876-2000)
- Johnston Historical Society Archive, Polk County (1970-2007)
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Des Moines newspapers. This database is free at some libraries.
Obituaries
Probate Records
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Dallas - Probate records.
Public Records
Schools
Taxation
Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 17:46.
- This page has been accessed 1,913 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

