Dallas County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dallas County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Dallas County Courthouse
500 Main Street
Dallas, TX 75202
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1846, probate, court and land records;
District Court has divorce
Dallas County, Texas is located in northeastern Texas and includes the city of Dallas and a number of other smaller communities. It was founded in the mid-1800s, and has been known for its fashion, ranching and farming marketplaces.
1880--Courthouse interior destroyed by fire. Courthouse was rebuilt adding a third story to the building.
1890--Courthouse destroyed by fire on 7 February 1890. All records were saved except those of the 44th District Court. 
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Cement City
- Cockrell Hill
- Farmers Branch
- Grand Prairie
- Highland Park
- Oak Cliff
- University Park
- Walnut Creek
Addison, Arcadia Park, Audelia, Balch Springs, Bethard, Bethel, Bobwyn, Bouchard, Buckingham, Carrollton, Cedar Hill, Cedarview, Centerville, Cockrell Hill, Cole, Combine, Coppell, Dallas, Dalrock, De Soto, Duck Creek, Duncanville, Eagle Ford, Estelle, Farmers Branch, Florence Hill, Fruitdale, Garland, Gifford, Glen Heights, Grand Prairie, Grapevine, Gribble, Highland Park, Hutchins, Irving, Kenwood, Kingswood, Kleberg, Lakeland Heights, Lakeview, Lancaster, Lawson, Ledbetter Hills, Lewisville, Liberty Grove, Meaders, Mesquite, Naaman, New Hope, Oak Cliff, Oldham, Ovilla, Patrick, Pleasant Grove, Pleasant Run, Pleasant Valley, Prestonwood, Rawlins, Red Bird Addition, Reinhardt, Richardson, River Oaks, Rose Hill, Rowlett, Rylie, Sachse, Sargent, Scyene, Seagoville, Shady Grove, Shamrock, Shiloh, Sowers, Sunnyvale, Trinity Mills, Tripp, University Park, Urbandale, Village, Westwood Park, White Rock, Wilmer, Woodland Hills, Wylie, Zacha Junction
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|WorldCat||Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
Anderson Family Cemetery | Antioch Cemetery | Balch Springs Cemetery | Bear Creek Cemetery | Beatty Family Cemetery | Beeman Memorial Cemetery | Bennett Family Cemetery (inside Laurel Oaks Cemetery) | Big "A" Cemetery Find a Grave | Big "A" Cemetery BillionGraves | Big Springs Cemetery US Genweb | Big Springs Cemeetery BillionGraves [ | Blewett Cemetery | Bowens Cemetery | Brickyard Community Cemetery | Brookhaven Cemetery | Bullock Cemetry | Calvary Cemetery | Calvary Hill Cemetery | Cameron Cemetery | Cartwright Cemetery | Caruth Pioneer Cemetery | Abraham Carver Cemetery | Albert Carver Family Cemetery | Carver Memorial Park | T. Carver Cemetery | Catholic Cemetery | Catlett Cemetery | Cedarlawn Memorial Park | Chapman Cemetery | Chenault Family Cemetery | Coats Cemetery | Cochran Chapel Cemetery | Cockrell Cemetery | Collins-Chenault Cemetery | Confederate Cemetery, | Cottonwood Cemetery | Coventry Cemetery |Cox Cemetery | Crawford's Tornado Graveyard | Crow Family Cemetery | Crown Hill Memorial Park | Cumby/Webster/Bailey Family Cemetery | Curtis Family Cemetery | Dallas City Cemetery / City Paupers' Cemetery A-L, M-Z | Daniel Cemetery | DeSoto Cemetery | Dowdy Ferry Road Cemetery | Eagle Ford Cemetery | Edgewood Cemetery | Elam Family Cemetery | Emanu-El Cemetery | Farmers Branch/Keenan Cemetery | Ferris Cemetery | Fields Cemetery | Fish Trap Cemetery / La Reunion Cemetery | Five Mile Cemetery (Ledbetter & allied families) | Five Mile Cemetery | Florence Family Cemetery | Floyd Pioneer Cemetery | Floyd-Taylor Family Cemetery | Forest Lawn Cemetery | Freedman's Memorial Park Cemetery | Frost Cemetery | Fuget Cemetery | Garland Cemetery | Garland Memorial Cemetery | Garland Cemetery (Masonic Section) | Garvin Memorial Cemetery | Glen Oak Memorial Cemetery | Glenn Family Cemetery | Glover Cemetery | Grand Prairie Memorial Gardens and Mausoleum | Gravel Slough Cemetery | Greenwood Cemetery | Grove Hill Memorial Park | Haley Memorial Cemetery | Harrington Cemetery | Haught Cemetery (Slap Foot) | Heath Family Cemetery | Hebrew Cemetery | Holy Redeemer Catholic Cemetery | Homecoming Cemetery | Honey Springs Cemetery | Horton Cemetery | Housley Cemetery | Hustead Cemetery | Hutchins Memorial Cemetery | IOOF Cemetery | Jones-McShan Cemetery | Jordan/Hight Cemetery | Kinnard Family Cemetery | Kleberg Cemetery | Knights of Pythias Cemetery | La Reunion Cemetery / Fish Trap Cemetery | Lagow Cemetery | Laudermilk/Axe Cemetery | Laurel Land Memorial Park | Laurel Oaks Memorial Park | Ledbetter Family Cemetery | Lee Cemetery | Letot Cemetery | Lisbon Cemetery | Little Bethel Memorial Park | Long Creek Cemetery | Loving Family Cemetery | Lumley Cemetery | Lyons Cemetery | Marsh Cemetery | McCree Cemetery (Rootsweb) McCree Cemetery (BillionGraves) | McKinney Family Cemetery | Merrell Cemetery | Merrifield Cemetery | Mesquite City Cemetery | Miller Cemetery | Mills Cemetery | Mobley Cemetery | Mooneyham-Sparkman Family Cemetery | Motley Cemetery | Mount Auburn Cemetery | Mount Calvary Cemetery | Myers Family Cemetery | New Hope Cemetery | Northhaven Park Cemetery | Oak Cliff Cemetery | Oak Grove Memorial Park | Old Letot Cemetery | Old Oak Cliff Cemetery | Oakland Cemetery (DGS Search) | Oakland Cemetery (Findagrave) | Oakland Cemetery (BillionGraves) | Overton Family Cemetery | Parrish Cemetery | Patrick-Pruitt Cemetery | Pioneer Park Cemetery | Pleasant Mound Cemetery | Pleasant Valley Cemetery | Porter Cemetery | Potter Cemetery | Pruitt Cemetery | Ramsey Cemetery, Rawlins Cemetery,Restland_Memorial_Park, Rhodes Cemetery | Riley Cemetery A-H, I-Z | Roselawn Memorial Gardens | Rowlett Cemetery | Sachse Cemetery Cemeteries of Texas | Sachse Cemetery BillionGraves | Sacred Heart Cemetery | Saint Joseph's Cemetery, Samuell/Crawford Memorial Park | Scott Family Cemetery | Shady Grove Cemetery | Shearith Israel Cemetery | Slapfoot (Haught) Cemetery | Smith Cemetery | Snyder-Kennedy Family Cemetery | Sowers Cemetery | Sparkman-Hillcrest Memorial Park | Southland Cemetery | Stadden Cemetery | Tarver Family Cemetery | Temple Emanu-El Cemetery | Tennessee Cemetery | Tompkins Family Cemetery | Trees Cemetery | Trinity Cemetery | Vincent Cemetery | Webb Chapel Cemetery | Wentworth Family Cemetery | Western Heights Cemetery | Wheatland Cemetery | White Rock Garden of Memories Cemetery | Woodland Cemetery
- Link to Map to Dallas County Cemeteries
- Link to Dallas Genealogical Society Cemetery Online Database
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Dallas County was organized in 1846.The first court established for civil matters was the 14th District Court. Additional courts have been established: 14th, 44th, 68th, 95th, 101st, 116th, 134th, 160th, 162nd, 191st, 192nd, 193rd, and 298th. Records for the first five civil courts have been microfilmed
Land records have been microfilmed and are only available on the second floor of the Records Building, 501 Main Street in downtown Dallas.
The following land records are available in the Genealogy Section of the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library.
- Dallas County Deeds – 1846–1899, Grantor and Grantee Index - 112 rolls microfilm
- Texas General Land Office – Abstracts of all original land titles comprising Texas land titles to Aug 31, 1845 - 8 rolls microfilm and 76 microfiche
- Abstracts of original titles of record in the General Land Office, Texas General Land Office ( 333.3 T355A)
- "A Cross File of Grantors and Grantees of Town Property of Dallas 1846–1856," abstracted in the DGS publication The Quarterly (March 1966)
Local histories are available for Dallas County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Dallas County, Texas: From 1837 to 1887, 1887, by John Henry Brown. Digitized book online at archive.org.
- Memorial and Biographical History of Dallas County, Texas, published 1892, online at The Portal To Texas History. Digitized book online at archive.org: Volume 1 Volume 2
- Dallas County Maps from Texas General Land Office
- Sam Street's 1900 Dallas County Map (Texas State Library and Archives)
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- Map of 1897 Dallas County, Texas with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Regiments. Service men in Dallas County, Texas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dallas County, Texas:
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dallas County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- The Dallas Morning News
- Genealogy Bank - Read years of old copies of the Dallas Morning News online (subscription service).
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Probate packets have been indexed from 1846 - 1906. The index and packets are available through the Family History Library and Family History Centers, with films beginning with 1266753.
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
- Dallas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1896 are available through the Family History Library and Family History Centers on films 2282008-2282009 and 2282160-2282163.
- Dallas County Tax Lists from 1846 are also available online at www.FamilySearch.org. Some of the documents are difficult to read due to dark documents and faded ink.
- 1846-1847: Courtesy of Dallas Genealogical Society
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Application for Copy of Marriage Record. Copies of marriage records can be obtained from the County Clerk's office. Instructions, plus the form to use, are on the County's web site, but not easily located. Click on this title link and scroll down to the bottom of the page.
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Marriage Book O is available on the Dallas Genealogical Society Web site.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
- Dallas County Marriage Record Alphabetical Index, 1846 - 1963, is available on microfilm in the Genealogy Section of the Dallas Public Library.
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch) - The name index was created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 and in many counties prior to 1910. Fold3.com also has Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 ($) available online.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch) - Index to Texas statewide death certificates covering 4 million deaths since 1964.
- Dallas County Mortality Schedules for 1850, 1860 and 1870 are available on the Dallas Genealogical Society Website.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas divorces were originally handled by the Texas Congress from 1837 to 1841. District courts began to handle divorces in 1841. Abstracts of the 14th District Court (Dallas County) Minute Book A are available on the Dallas Genealogical Society Web site.
- Texas Divorce Records 1966-2006 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- Dallas County District Court Civil Case Papers have been microfilmed. They are available on the 7th floor Texas/Dallas History Dept. of the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library, through interlibrary loan from the Texas State Library and Archives or through a local Family History Center. These are in order by case number, but there is an index. Check the TSL information for a description.
- Texas Divorce Index, 1968-2002 available online from Ancestry.com ($). The Dallas Public Library has a library account to Ancestry.com which may be searched for free in the 8th floor Genealogy Department of the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library. The Dallas Public Library also has the divorce index on microfiche.
- Divorces, Dallas County, TX, 1846–1905, abstracted by Jim Monaghan (929.37642 M734D), is also available at the Dallas Public Library.
Societies and Libraries
- Dallas Genealogical Society
- Dallas Historical Society
- Dallas Jewish Historical Society
- Dallas County Pioneer Association
- Bridwell Library at Southern Methodist University
- Dallas Public Library, Genealogy Section
- Dallas Public Library, Texas/Dallas History
- The Lancaster Genealogical Society
- Grand Prairie Genealogical Society The Grand Prairie Genealogical Society covers parts of the City in two counties. About 2/3 of Grand Prairie are in Dallas County with the remaining 1/3 in Tarrant County. However, this is based on modern boundaries. Before WW II (when Grand Prairie boomed due to, among other things, moving a major avaition plant from Connecticut to Texas) all of Grand Prairie was in Dallas County. As far as I know, GP is not one of the cities in Dallas County that was allowed to record its own vital events.
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Dallas Texas Family History Center (Duncanville)
- Dallas Texas East Family History Center
- Lewisville Texas Family History Center
- Richardson Texas Family History Center
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dallas County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com Dallas, TX Courthouse Fire, Feb 1890 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/10185/dallas-tx-courthouse-fire-feb-1890
- ↑ GenDisasters.com Dallas, TX Courthouse Fire, Feb 1890 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/10185/dallas-tx-courthouse-fire-feb-1890
- ↑ "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
- This page was last modified on 23 January 2015, at 13:17.
- This page has been accessed 76,511 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More