Dane Bridge, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to  Dane Bridge, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dane Bridge, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1890
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DANE-BRIDGE, is an ecclesiastical parish, partly in the parish of Davenham, and partly in the parochial chapelry of Witton, parish of Great Budworth, union and hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 1 mile (S.) from Northwich. Dane-Bridge was constituted a district in April, 1846, and a parish in 1847. There are places of worship for Calvinists, Ranters, and Wesleyans.[1]

Dane Bridge St Pauls is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1846 from  Davenham, Cheshire Ancient Parish and  Witton, Cheshire Ecclesiastical Parish, serving parts of Leftwich and Northwich townships. Closed in 1930.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Dane Bridge St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts

Dane Bridge St Paul Parish (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1846-1909
  NONE
1849-1934
  NONE
1849-1956
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Dane Bridge parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office call no.: P118/1/1-2, 2/1-5, 3/1-2.

Parish registers for Dane-Bridge, 1846-1967 Film
Baptisms, 1846-1967. Marriages, 1849-1914.
2104410 Items 14 - 17
Marriages, 1914-1963. Burials, 1849-1905, 1955-1956.
2104547 Items 1 - 5
The burial registers of St. Paul's Church, Dane Bridge, 1849-1956
Film
Burial registers, 1849-1956, and index (1 fiche).
6359858
Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Northwich (1837–1937)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dane Bridge (see Leftwich) on GENUKI

Dane Bridge St Paul on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 22 Jan 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 16:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,476 times.