Darenth, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Darenth, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Darenth, Kent
Darenth St Margaret of Antioch Kent.jpg
Darenth St Margaret of Antioch Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DARENTH (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 2 miles (S. E. by S.) from Dartford.[1]


Darenth is a village and civil parish in the Dartford district of Kent Darenth Wikipedia

Darenth St Margaret of Antioch is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church of St Margaret, Darenth Hill has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 367-383 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Darenth North West Kent Family History Society and Darenth St Margaret of Antioch

South Darenth was shared with Horton Kirby, Kent see South Darenth North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Darenth, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Darenth, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1834, 1863-1877
1813-1834

FMP 1683-1856


FREG 1695-1697, 1813-1856
1695-1696, 1813-1891
1695-1696, 1813-1848
MED 1696-1976 1696-1976 1696-1976

Darenth St Margaret of Antioch Baptisms marriages and burials 1696-1976 reference P 109 digital images may be searched online at Medway Archives City Ark project http://cityark.medway.gov.uk

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Darenth

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Census records

Census returns for Darenth 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Darenth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 4-8. Date accessed: 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 September 2014, at 17:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,906 times.