Daresbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Daresbury

Guide to  Daresbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints Daresbury Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

DARESBURY, is a chapelry, in the parish and union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester; it is 5½ miles (N.E.) from Frodsham. The chapelry consists of the townships of Acton-Grange, Daresbury, Hatton, Kekewick, Moore, Newton-by-Daresbury, Preston-on-the-Hill, and Walton Superior. The chapel, is dedicated to All Saints, and is distant about three miles from the parish church; the parsonage is in Newtonby-Daresbury township.[1]

Daresbury All Saints, an ancient chapelry in Runcorn Ancient Parish, included  Acton Grange, Daresbury, Hatton, Keckwick, Moore, Newton by Daresbury, Preston on the Hill, Walton Inferior and Walton Superior. It became a parish in 1880.

It is best known because of its association with Lewis Carroll who is commemorated in its stained glass windows depicting characters from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Window commemorating Lewis Carroll, All Saints, Daresbury Cheshire.jpg


In the 12th century a chapelry was founded on the site of the present church as a daughter house of Norton Priory. It was a chapel of ease within the parish of Runcorn. After the Reformation the patronage of the Runcorn parish passed into the hands of Christ Church, Oxford. It is likely that the stone tower was built shortly after this time. Over the years there were frequent disputes between the worshippers at Daresbury and the mother church at Runcorn relating to financial matters.

The existing building other than the tower was erected between 1870 and 1872 by Paley and Austin in the Gothic revival style. During the restoration an old rood loft and screen were destroyed. Richards identified this as of "pure Welsh type" and its loss as "nothing short of a major calamity". Daresbury became a parish separate from Runcorn in February 1880. Families who have been associated with the church over the centuries are those of Greenall, Rylands, Chadwick, Heron, Milner, Houghton and Okell. The tower was restored in 1872 by Sir Gilbert Greenall.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Daresbury All Saints chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Daresbury All Saints Chapelry (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1617-1909
  NONE
1617-1934
  NONE
1617-1941
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1855   NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1855
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Daresbury, Cheshire, 1617-1951 Daresbury is a chapelry in Runcorn parish.
Cheshire Record Office call number: P66/1/1-5, P66/2/1-3, P66/3/1-3, P66/4/1-2.

Cheshire parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials, 1617-1812). Baptisms, 1813- Aug 1868. BRITISH
2106348 Items 5 - 11
Baptisms, Feb 1868 -1951. Marriages, 1813-1949. Burials, 1813-1904. BRITISH
2106512
Burials, 1904 (from 3 Mar.)-1941. BRITISH
2106513 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for Daresbury, 1600-1855 Early entries in Latin.Daresbury was a chapelry in the parish of Runcorn.
Cheshire Record Office number: EDB 74.

Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts are available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1600, 1824. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605-1608, 1610-1613, 1617-1618, 1620-1622, 1624-1625, 1628, 1632-1636, 1639-1641, 1665, 1668-1669, 1671-1677, 1681-1683, 1685, 1690-1691, 1693-1701, 1703-1708, 1710-1713, 1715-1721, 1723-1814, 1816-1823. BRITISH
1655597 Item 2
Marriages, 1824-1837.  Baptisms, burials, 1824-1855. BRITISH
1655598 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Runcorn (1837–1974)
  • Halton (post1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013

Charles Dodgson

From 1827 to 1843 the priest in charge of Daresbury church was Charles Dodgson. In 1832 his third child and first son was born, named Charles Lutwidge, and better known later in life as Lewis Carroll. The vicarage was not then, as it is now, opposite the church but was some distance away in Newton-by-Daresbury near the junction of Morphany Lane and Higher Lane. The churchyard contains a 16th century font in which, amongst many others, Lewis Carroll was baptised 

Lewis Carroll Interpretation Project

This project is to build a centre to provide information about Lewis Carroll's early years in Daresbury, and his later achievements. In June 2008 the Heritage Lottery Fund awarded a grant of £370,000 towards the project.

"Lewis Carroll Interpretation Project", Inside Halton (Halton Borough Council): 13, December 2008

Bibliography

Starkey, H. F. (1990), Old Runcorn, Halton: Halton Borough Council

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 34, ISBN 1871731232

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 141–143

Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, p. 155, ISBN 0901347353

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 4,090 times.