Darfield, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Darfield

Guide to Darfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darfield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill; Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barnsley PLU
Registration District Barnsley; Hemsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DARFIELD (All Saints), a parish, partly in the wapentake of Staincross, and partly in the N. division of that of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelry of Worsbrough, and the townships of Ardsley, Billingley, Darfield, Great and Little Houghton, and Wombwell. This parish is mainly situated on the river Dearne, and on the road from Barnsley to Doncaster. A chapel at Houghton is licensed by the archbishop. The chapel of ease at Wombwell has been considerably enlarged; the chapel at Worsbrough has been rebuilt, and a newchurch has been erected at Ardsley. There are places of worship for dissenters.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Darfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 DARFIELD PARISH (1598) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1612-2005
FS 1598-1892

1598-1912

1885-1922

JOIN None

1598-1837

None

 Wombwell Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1864-1900
1864-1899

List of Chapelry's in this Parish

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464275.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted; Date accessed: 9 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 19:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,808 times.