Darlaston, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Darlaston, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Darlaston, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DARLASTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlowand of the county of Stafford, 1 mile (N. W. by W.) from Wednesbury.  There are four places of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Darlaston St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
DARLASTON ST LAWRENCE PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1842-1899




FREG 1539-1842
1694-1850
1756-1925
FS 1660-1844
1660-1885


JOIN

1544-1692


NBI



1539-1879

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1539-1971 Mar 1539-1987 Bur 1539-1925
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1844 Mar 1660-1835 Bur 1660-1844 (missing Bap & Bur 1836-1842)

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


All Saints ecclesiastical parish was formed in October, 1872 from parts of Darlaston and Wednesbury civil parishes. The church in All Saints Road was consecrated in that year. On the 31st July 1942 it was completely destroyed when a bomb from a German air raid on nearby factories stuck the church building.. A new church was opened on the site in 1952.

DARLASTON ALL SAINTS (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1891-1919





Non-Conformist Churches

Slater St Primitive Methodist Chapel was known as Bell St Primitive Methodist Chapel until 1910 when the former building was demolished (1908) and a new chapel was rebuilt in Slater St. in 1910. Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SLATER ST (BELL ST) PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1881






United Free Methodist Church, Great Croft St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  UNITED FREE METHODIST CHURCH, GREAT CROFT ST (1851) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1851-1875, 1887-1931






Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Perry St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL, PERRY ST (1851) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1851-1924





Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Pinfold St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL, PINFOLD ST (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1832-1851


1833-1837, 1853-1892

Cemetery Records

James Bridge Cemetery was opened in 1860 by the then Darlaston Urban District Council in Bentley now part of Walsall however it was heavily used by Darlaston residents.

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1860-1865

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 16:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,950 times.