Darlaston St George, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Darlaston St George, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlaston St George, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The ecclesiastical district of St. George,which comprises more than one-third of the whole parish of Darlaston (St. Lawrence), was constituted in October, 1844. There are four places of worship for Wesleyans, and the Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Ranters, also have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Darlaston St George was formed in 1844 from Darlaston, Staffordshire (St Lawrence). The parish was abolished in 1973 and returned to St Lawrence. The church was subsequently demolished.

Darlaston St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
DARLASTON ST GEORGE PARISH (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1845-1904
1853-1906

FMP 1845-1901 1845-1901 1853-1900 1853-1900
FREG

1852-1908
FS 1845-1885


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1845-1973 Mar 1853-1973 Bur 1852-1908
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Burials for the period 1852-1908 have been transcribed by Staffordshire FreeREG and can be searched for free.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Darlaston/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,152 times.