Dartford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Dartford, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dartford Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
Dartford, Kent
Dartford Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
Dartford Holy Trinity Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DARTFORD (Holy Trinity), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 15 miles (S. E.) from London, and 22 (N. W.) from Maidstone, on the great road from London to Canterbury and Dovor.[1]


Dartford is a town and borough in the Dartford district of Kent Dartford Wikipedia

Dartford Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester Dartford deanery; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 286-328 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Other Anglican parishes formed from this parish include

St Alban St Albans Road see St Alban Dartford

Christ Church dating from 1909; the church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building see Kent Churches website Christ Church Dartford

See Dartford North West Kent Family History Society

Other places of worship in Dartford include

St Anselm Roman Catholic Church

The Methodist Church Kent Road Dartford dates from 1844-1845 and has been designated asa grade II listed building British listed building

Wesleyan: Waterside Chapel. (1798).
Methodist Spital St see Methodist Church Spital Street.
Primitive Methodist East Hill see Dartford East Hill.

The Zion Strict Baptist Chapel Essex Road Dartford has been designated as a grade II listed building and dates from 1794 British listed building see Zion Chapel Priory Hill

Baptist: Brent Chapel, East Hill. (c.1880).
Baptist Highfield Road see Baptist Chapel Highfield Road

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dartford Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Dartford Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1843
1718-1839

FREG 1561-1908
1561-1955
1561-1926
IGI 1561-1812 1561-1812, 1840-1843
MED 1561-1984 1561-1984 1561-1984

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

  • Lovefield Street Independent Christenings 1797-1837 Batch (C068141)
  • Waterside Wesleyan Christenings 1811-1837 Batch (C068151)
  • Zion Independent Christenings 1820-1822; 1832-1833 Batch (C068131)

Dartford Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Dartford Christchurch Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1910-1935


MED 1910-1970 1910-1954

Dartford St Alban the Martyr parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Dartford St Alban the Martyr Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1903-1910


MED 1903-1982 1903-1954 1903-1910; 1923-1937 (funerals)

Dartford St Edmund King and Martyr parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Dartford St Edmund King and Martyr Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1903-1910


MED 1956-1999

Census records

Dartford Census returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Cemeteries

East Hill and Watling Street Cemetery in Dartford burials have been indexed from 1856 through 1870 at FreeREG - free.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dartford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 8,655 times.