DauphinéEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

France Gotoarrow.png Dauphiné

Guide to Dauphiné, France ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

The Dauphiné was a region which became a prinipality and historic province of France. Its capital was Grenoble.[1] It was in what is now south eastern France: to the south was Provence; to the north, the east bank of the Rhône divided it from the French possessions of Bresse ("Brêsse") and Bugey ("Bugê"); and, to the east, was the Alps and Savoy.[2] This area more or less corresponds with the modern French departments of Isère, Drôme and Hautes-Alpes.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Dauphiné


Contents

Jurisdictions

The principality included the counties of Viennois, Graisivaudan (or Grésivaudan), Valentinois, Diois, Embrunais, and Gapençais; the Baronnies of Tour-du-Pin, Méouillon, and Montauban; and the lordships of Briançon, Champsaur, Pont-en-Royans, and Montélimar.
The Dauphiné contained seven episcopates: Vienne, Valence, Die, Grenoble, Viviers, Gap, Embrun.[3]

The Dauphiné was divided into Haut-Dauphiné (Upper Dauphiné) and Bas-Dauphiné (Lower Dauphiné). The principal subdivisions of the Dauphiné were:[4]

  • Viennois
  • Royannais
  • Vercors
  • Trièves
  • Dévoluy
  • Oisans
  • Graisivaudan
  • Chartreuse
  • Queyras
  • Valgodemar
  • Champsaur

Did you know?

  • The name Dauphiné (EN:ˈdəʊfɪneɪ, FR: dofine) derives from the word for "dolphin", a creature which was depicted on the heraldic arms of the rulers of the province; between 1350 and 1830, the eldest son of the King of France (heir apparent to the French throne) was invested with the Principality of Dauphiné and took the nick-name of "Dauphin" (the dolphin). [5]


Research Tools

Centre Généalogique du Dauphiné

The Centre Généalogique du Dauphiné is an association for genealogical studies in the former province of the Dauphiné.

address: 20 Av. Géneral Champon 38100 Grenoble 
telephone: 09 52 22 00 02
email: admin@cgdauphiné.org


The association makes available to its members more than 3.5 million records (as at 2012) including marriages, parish baptisms and burials, civil registrations of births and deaths, notarised documents and cemetery records. These are also accessible on GeneaBank via participating societies.
Its website has a number of useful articles and resources.

References

  1. "Dauphiné" in Angus Stevenson (ed.), Oxford Dictionary of English (3rd ed., Oxford University Press, 2010) Print ISBN-13: 9780199571123 via Oxford Reference Online (2012) eISBN: 9780191727665 accessed 15 Feb 2013.
  2. Eric F. Johnson, "Dauphiné" in Robert E. Bjork (ed.), The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (Oxford University Press, 2010), Print ISBN-13: 9780198662624 accessed via Oxford Reference Online (2012) eISBN: 9780199574834 accessed 15 Feb 2013.
  3. Pierrette Paravy, "Dauphiné" in André Vauchez (ed.) Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2002, James Clarke and Co) ISBN-13: 9780227679319 via Oxford Reference Online (2012) eISBN: 9780195188172 accessed 15 February 2013.
  4. Adolphe Laurent Joanne, Dictionnaire géographique, administratif, postal, statistique, archéologique, etc. de la France, de l'Algérie et des colonies ... précédé d'une introd. sur la France Internet Archive
  5. "dauphin" in Elizabeth Knowles (ed.), The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (2nd ed., 2005, Oxford University Press) ISBN-13: 9780198609810, via Oxford Reference Online eISBN: 9780191727047 accessed 15 February 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 00:39.
  • This page has been accessed 977 times.