Dauphin County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Dauphin County
Dauphin County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Dauphin County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 4, 1785 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Harrisburg | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Dauphin County Courthouse 101 Market Street Harrisburg, PA 17101 Dauphin County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Dauphin County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Lancaster County 4 March 1785.[1]
- County Seat: Harrisburg
- Neighboring Counties: Dauphin County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Northumberland (north) • Perry (west) • York (south) • Lebanon (east) • Lancaster (southeast) • Cumberland (southwest) • Schuylkill (northeast)
Named for Louis-Joseph, Dauphin of France, first son of Louis XVI. The title "Dauphin" signified heir-apparent.
Many Scotch-Irish immigrants settled in what is now Dauphin County (then Lancaster County) in the early eighteenth century. It was predominantly a German area of settlement.[3]
Boundary Changes
16 Feb 1813: Lebanon County was created from parts of Dauphin and Lancaster counties.
Dauphin County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census
For tips on accessing Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
The Historical Society of Dauphin County has an excellent collection of records and photographs for many local area churches. Their records include baptisms, marriages and death records for many Dauphin County churches, some dating back to the 1700's. The society also maintains an archive with hundreds of manuscript items. Details of their manuscript holdings are available on their website. For information about research services and fees, see the "Research Fees" page.
The Capital Area Genealogical Society in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania has some published Dauphin County church records. See the Research Library Holdings page for a 2010 pdf. list of all their holdings.
For a good history concerning early churches of Dauphin County, see History of Dauphin County, Pennsylvania. The religion section is divided into town and township and discusses the denominations in each of the areas.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains church records of:
- Jonathan Worrall, J.P./Misc. Marriage Licenses, 1890-1915
- Berrysburg: PA Conference Evangelical Association
- Elizabethville: Trinity United Methodist Church
- Harrisburg: Harrisburg First Church of God; Lutheran Church; Lutheran Church of the Redeemer; Memorial Lutheran Church; Park Street United Methodist Church; Rev. Nathaniel R. Snowden Records; St. Michael's Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. Paul's Episcopal Church; St. Stephen's Episcopal Church; United Church of Christ; Zion German Lutheran Church
- Hummelstown: Hummelstown United Church of Christ; Trinity United Methodist Church
- Millersburg: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Oberlin: Neidig Memorial United Methodist Church
- Philadelphia: Cooper Memorial United Methodist Church
- Steelton: St. John's Lutheran Church
- Susquehanna: Paxton Methodist Episcopal Church
- Williamstown: Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Contains church records of:
- 1744-1844 - Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Church Records at Ancestry ($). Includes records from Salem Reformed Church (Harrisburg, Pa.), Lykens Valley Lower Church (David's Reformed) (Killingern, Upper Paxtang, Pa.), Fetterhoff's Lutheran and Reformed Church, Fredricktown Church (Hummelstown, Pa.), Hoffman Reformed Church, Lykens Valley Lower Church, Middletown Church, Paxtang and Derry Presbyterian Churches, Reformed Church (Hummelstown, Pa.), St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Salem Reformed Church (Harrisburg, Pa.), Shoop's Reformed Church, Wenerich's Reformed Church, Zion Church.
- 1757-1825 - Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Dauphin County, 1757-1825. Washington, D.C.: PA Genealogy Books, 2005. FHL Book 974.818 V2h.
- Contains church records of Hill or "Maxe" Lutheran Church, Derry Township; Middletown Lutheran Church, Middletown, Lower Swatara Township; Hummelstown Lutheran Congregation, Derry Township; Evangelical Reformed Church, Lykens Valley, Upper Paxton Township; Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Killinger, Lykens Valley; Shoop's Church or Paxton Church, Lutheran and Reformed, Lower Paxton Township; Klinger's Church, Erdman, Lutheran and Reformed, Lykens Township; Salem Reformed Church, Harrisburg; Fetterhoff's Church, Lutheran and Reformed, Halifax Township; St. John's Lutheran Church, Lykens Valley, Upper Paxton Township; Hoffman's Reformed Church, Lykens Township; Zion Lutheran Church, Harrisburg; Wenrich's Church, Lutheran and Reformed, Lower Paxton Township; and St. Stephen's Protestant Episcopal Church, Harrisburg.
- Dauphin County Church Records at Dauphin County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives Includes Church histories and records.
Lutheran
Bindnagle Lutheran and Reformed Church, Derry Township
- 1724-1793 - Bindnagle Lutheran and Reformed Church, Derry Township, Baptism Index 1724-1793 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507271.[4]
- 1795-1798 - Bindnagle Lutheran and Reformed Church, Derry Township, Marriage Index 1795-1798 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M507271.[4]
Hill Lutheran Church, Derry Township
- 1752-1825 - Hill Lutheran Church, Derry Township, Baptism Index 1752-1825 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507291.[4]
- Records of the Hill Lutheran Church in Derry Township, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania at Ancestry ($).
Klinger's Evangelical Lutheran and Reformed Church, Upper Paxton Township
- 1787-1875 - Klinger's Evangelical Lutheran and Reformed Church, Upper Paxton Township, Baptism Index 1787-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506751.[4]
St. John's Lutheran Church near Berrysburg, Miflin Township
- 1780-1875 - St. John's Lutheran Church near Berrysburg, Miflin Township, Baptism Index 1780-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504451.[4]
- 1854-1873 - St. John's Lutheran Church near Berrysburg, Miflin Township, Marriage Index 1854-1873 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504451.[4]
St. Matthew Evangelical Lutheran Church, Lykens Township
- 1872-1875 - St. Matthew Evangelical Lutheran Church, Lykens Township, Baptism Index 1872-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C536631.[4]
St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Middletown
- 1783-1861 - St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Middletown, Baptism Index 1783-1861 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504441.[4]
- 1814-1822 - St. Peter's Church, Middletown, Baptism Index 1814-1822 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507301.[4]
- 1835-1858 - St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Middletown, Baptism Index 1835-1838 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504441.[4]
Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Killinger
- 1770-1855 - Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Killinger, Baptism Index 1770-1855 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504421.[4]
- 1806-1809 - Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church, Killinger, Marriage Index 1806-1809 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504421.[4]
St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Derry Township
- 1757-1866 - St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Derry Township, Baptism Index 1757-1866 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C536611.[4]
Union Salem Church, Berrysburg
- 1837-1875 - Union Salem Church, Berrysburg, Baptism Index 1837-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504651.[4]
- 1863-1880 - Union Salem Church, Berrysburg, Marriage Index 1863-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504651.[4]
Zion Evangelical Lutheran and Evangelical Reformed Congregations, Erdman
- 1769-1875 - Zion Evangelical Lutheran and Evangelical Reformed Congregations, Erdman, Baptism Index 1769-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504371.[4]
Zion Lutheran Church, Harrisburg
- 1795-1809 - Zion Lutheran Church, Harrisburg, Marriage Index 1795-1809 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M523851.[4]
Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church, Hummelstown
- 1753-1875 - Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church, Hummelstown, Baptism Index 1753-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504411.[4]
- 1823-1830, 1847, 1855-1880 - Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church, Hummelstown, Baptism Index 1823-1830, 1847, and 1855-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504411.[4]
Methodist
- 1860-1997 - Saint Paul's United Methodist Church, Harrisburg, Pa. at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, and deaths.
Presbyterian
The first three churches established in the county were the Hanover, Paxtang and Derry Churches. These were organized prior to 1730.[5]
- 1741-1810 - Marriage Record of Paxtang and Derry Churches, 1741-1810 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 10) at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
The Hanover Presbyterian Church was built in 1736 in a Scotch-Irish settlement in what is now Lebanon County. This settlement was previously in Lancaster County, before Dauphin County was formed.[3]
Derry Presbyterian Congregation, Derry Township
- 1807-1839 - Derry Presbyterian Congregation, Derry Township, Baptism Index 1807-1839 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507281.[4]
- 1807-1841 - Derry Presbyterian Congregation, Derry Township, Marriage Index 1807-1841 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M507281.[4]
Harrisburg Presbyterian Church
- 1798-1803 - Harrisburg Presbyterian Church Marriage Index 1798-1803 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M535541.[4]
Pine Street Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg
- 1858-1876 - Pine Street Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg, Baptism Index 1858-1876 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C530991.[4]
- 1865-1866 - Pine Street Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg, Marriage Index 1865-1866 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M530991.[4]
Westminster Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg
- 1889-1890 - Westminster Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg, Baptism Index 1889-1890 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C530981.[4]
- 1873-1885 - Westminster Presbyterian Church, Harrisburg, Marriage Index 1873-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M530981.[4]
Reformed
Hoffman Reformed Church
- 1800-1855 - Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, 1800-55: Hoffman Reformed Church at Ancestry ($). Includes more than 8,400 records of baptisms, marriages, and burials for the Hoffman Reformed Church located in the Lykens Valley.
Shoop's Reformed Church, Harrisburg
- 1771-1830 - Shoop's Reformed Church, Harrisburg, Baptism Index 1771-1830 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507361.[4]
Court Records
Dauphin County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Dauphin County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[6]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[7] For the Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphans' Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[8]
For Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Dauphin County began in 1785. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1979–present Dauphin County offers online access to records. Fees apply for copies. Check the website for current information on availability and fees.
Online Land Record Abstracts
- Warrantees of land, Pennsylvania Archives Series 3 Volume 24, 1785-1895 at Dauphin County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1785–1917 Deeds, 1785-1850; Index to Deeds, 1785-1917. FHL films 21249-21282)
Maps
- MacInnes, Sharon Cook and Angus MacInnes. Early landowners of Pennsylvania : Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Dauphin County, PA. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press, 2009. FHL book 974.818 E7ms
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
Additional Resources
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dauphin County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Local Histories
Maps
Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images of The Combination Atlas Map of Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, Compiled, Drawn and Published from Personal Examinations and Surveys by Everts & Stewart, 1875. This wall map located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Dauphin County and a Companion Scans of Township Warrantee Maps plus Current Road Overlays CD ($) is also available from Ancestor Tracks. They show precise outlines in metes and bounds of each original tract and all surrounding tracts in the township, giving the names of the warrantee and patentee; dates of the warrant, survey, and patent; and the patent and survey book and page of the recorded patent.
Migration
Military
French and Indian War
In 1756, Colonel Armstrong recruited many Scotch-Irish men from what is now Dauphin County (then Lancaster County). They attacked and destroyed the Indian village at Kittanning (present-day Armstrong County).[3]
Reverend John Elder, pastor of Derry and Paxtang churches, recruited Scotch-Irish rangers from his congregation in what is now Dauphin County (then Lancaster County). Known as the Paxton Rangers or Paxton Boys, they provided security for white settlements between the Blue Mountains and the Susquehanna River. They are remembered for playing a prominent role in Pontiac's War.[3]
Revolutionary War
Men from what is now Dauphin County (then Lancaster County) served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment.[9]
War of 1812
Anderson, John, Dr. John Anderson papers, 1812-1814, 1819 Microfilm of original records in the Bureau of Archives and History in Harrisburg. Contains enlistment records relating to Pennsylvanians in the War of 1812. FHL Film 1032585 Item 3.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Dauphin County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537.
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dauphin County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Dauphin County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Dauphin County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
- Whig State Journal at Pennsylvania Dept. of Education Historic Newspapers.
- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection available through the Penn State University Library
- Daily Patriot and Unio 15 October 1860-31 October 1863
- Pennsylvnia Daily Telegraph 21 January 1859- 26 Nov 1862
- Evening Telegraph 28 Nove 1862 - 11 Mar 1864
- Pennsylvania Telegraph 12 Mar 1864 - 31 Dec 1864
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Dauphin County.
- USGenWeb Lykens Register Newspaper tidbits.
- Dauphin County Newspaper Articles at Dauphin County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives Includes Items from the Harrisburg Telegraph, January 4,7,8,9 1892 and Items from The Evening News
Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts June - September 1918.
- Marriages and Deaths from Dauphin Co. Newspapers, (SLC, Utah, 1980) FHL film 1298604
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Dauphin County.
- Dauphin County Obituaries at Dauphin County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Stroh, Alice F., Cemetery Records of Dauphin County, Pennsylvania (SLC, Utah, 1978) FHL film 1026670 item 5
- Deaths from Berks, Dauphin and Philadelphia Counties Newspapers, 1791-1864 (SLC, Utah, 1964) FHL film 385043
Occupations
Indentured Servants
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Dauphin County, Pennsylvania (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Dauphin County Only:
- 1785-1937-Dauphin County Probate Records
- 1785-1937-Dauphin County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1785-1795 Will Records FHL film 434946
- 1785-1875 Wills FHL film 21237
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Dauphin County Courthouse
101 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
The Register of Wills/Clerk of the Orphans' Court is located on the first floor of the Dauphin County Courthouse (rm 103) and can be reached at 717. 780.6500 (register of wills), or 717.780.6510 (Orphans' Court). The Register of Wills holds birth and death records (1893-1906), marriage records (1850-1855 and 1885-present) and estates. See their Genealogy page for more information.
The Recorder of Deeds is located on the first floor (rm 102) of the Dauphin County Courthouse or at 717.780.6560. The Recorder of Deeds holds records related to the transfer of property (including deeds and mortgages).
Dauphin County Prothonotary
101 Market Street
Room 101
Harrisburg, PA 17101
Phone:717–780-6520
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Dauphin County, Pennsylvania is the Harrisburg/Hershey Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Museums
Societies
The Historical Society of Dauphin County
219 South Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17104
Phone: 717.233.3462
E-mail: library@dauphincountyhistory.org
The Alexander Family Library holds church records, newspaper clippings, cemetery inventories, military records, and more.
Taxation
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
- 1800 - First Annville Township, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania 1800 at PAGenWeb - free.
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1864 - Dauphin County Birth Index 1852-1864 [1854?] in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C523831.[4]
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Dauphin County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1797-1822 - Hummelstown Marriages by Justices of the Peace 1797-1822 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M523861.[4]
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1794-1873 - Harrisburg, Dauphin County, Death Index 1794-1873 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1852-1906 - Dauphin County Death Index 1852-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dauphin County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Dauphin County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Dauphin County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Dauphin County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 50, 150-154. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 4.14 4.15 4.16 4.17 4.18 4.19 4.20 4.21 4.22 4.23 4.24 4.25 4.26 4.27 4.28 4.29 4.30 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
- ↑ Luther Reily Kelker, "History of Dauphin County, Pennsylvania" (New York: Lewis Publishing Company, 1907) 224-240. WorldCat 361725; FHL book 974.818 H2k vol. 1
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 22:41.
- This page has been accessed 6,613 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






