Davenham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png  Davenham

Guide to  Davenham, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Davenham, Cheshire
Davenham Saint Wilfrid Church.jpg
Davenham Saint Wilfrid Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Wharton Christ Church beginning 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1588; Separate records exist for Wharton Christ Church beginning 1851 and for Winsford beginning 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

DAVENHAM (St. Wilfrid), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester; it includes the townships of Bostock, Davenham, Eaton, Leftwich, Moulton, Newhall, Rudheath, Shipbrook, Shurlach, Stanthorne, Wharton, and Whatcroft; it is 2 miles (S.) from Northwich. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, have places of worship.[1]

The church of St. Wilfrid goes back to the Domesday period but the current edifice is the fourth on the site, dating from a major reconstruction between 1844 and 1870 in the Victorian Gothic revival style. The tower has a recessed spire built in 1850.

Legend says that the church was founded by St Wilfrid on a journey through Cheshire in the 7th Century, but the first documented evidence of a church on the site is an existing priest and church in 1086.

Davenham is recorded in the Domesday Book as Devenham. Its name means "hamlet on the River Dane". In modern times it is famous for being the Birthplace of international athlete Paula Radcliffe.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Davenham St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Davenham St Wilfrid Parish (1560) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1570-1871
1571-1871
1571-1871
FS PR's 1570-1909
  NONE
1571-1934
  NONE
1571-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1593-1884   NONE
1593-1837
  NONE
1593-1884
  NONE
JOIN
1560-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Davenham, St. Wilfrid (C of E). An ancient parish, originally comprising the townships of Bostock, Davenham, Eaton (near Davenham), Leftwich, Moulton, Newhall, Rudheath (part), Shipbrook, Shurlach, Stanthorne, Wharton and Whatcroft. Registers of Baptisms 1560–1943, Marriages 1560–1988 and Burials 1560–1937 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call no.: P6/1/1-5, P6/2/1-4, P6/3265/1, P6/3/1-10 P6/3265/2/1-3, P6/4/1-2, P6/5/1-4, P6/3265/3-5, P6/3599/1-2. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1560-1803. BRITISH 2106513 Items 9 - 12
Baptisms, 1803-1843; burials, 1797-1812.  Index to marriages, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1754-1799. Marriages and banns, 1779-1805. BRITISH 2106514
Marriages, 1795-1889 and banns, 1805-1812. BRITISH 2106515
Marriages, 1889 (from May)-1947. Marriage banns, 1754-1779, 1823-1850. Burials, 1813-1855. BRITISH 2106516
Burials, 1855-1937. Registers of graves, 1833-1983. BRITISH 2106517 Items 1 - 6
Item 1 Banns 1754-1779 Item 2 Banns 1823-1850 Item 3 Index to marriages 1754-1812 BRITISH 1656303 Items 1-3

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Early entries in Latin. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 75. 

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588, 1593, 1600, 1604, 1608, 1610-1614, 1617, 1619-1621, 1623-1625, 1628-1630, 1632-1635, 1637-1638, 1641, 1658-1664, 1666-1668, 1670-1776, 1679-1680, 1682-1699, 1701-1806. BRITISH 1655598 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1806-1850, 1852-1855, 1857, baptisms, 1859. BRITISH 1655665
Baptisms, burials, 1859-1884. BRITISH 1655666 Item 1
Norman Collection Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1754-1812, arranged alphabetically "A-Y" under bride, Davenham, Cheshire, England (transcript, handwritten). BRITISH
823619 Item 4
Christenings, marriages, and burials from the Davenham Parish magazine, Dec. 1877-Dec. 1878 & 1883-1888  (transcript, handwritten and typewritten). BRITISH 823619 Item 3

Forms part of the Norman Collection compiled by Bertram William Tuff Norman. Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. FHL

Parish transcripts may be searched online Cheshire Parish Register project

Non Conformist Churches

  •  Davenham, Trinity Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1819, rebuilt in 1888.
  •  Davenham, Congregational Chapel later Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Hartford Road. Built in 1852, closed in 1962. Registers of marriages 1924–1957 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of original records at the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 242/1.
Other Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1924-1957. VAULT BRITISH 2299421 Item 10

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich (1837–1974)
  •  Vale Royal (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 5,180 times.