Davie County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Carolina Gotoarrow.png Davie County

Guide to Davie County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Davie County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Davie County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1836
County Seat Mocksville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Davie Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Davie County Courthouse
123 S Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
Phone: 336-751-2513

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records
Clerk Superio Court has divorce and court records from 1834
probate records from 1837[1]

History

Davie was formed in 1836 from Rowan. It was named in honor of William Richardson Davie, a distinguished Revolutionary soldier, a member of the Federal Convention of 1787, governor of North Carolina, special envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to France, and one of the founders of the University of North Carolina. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Davidson, Rowan, Iredell, Yadkin, and Forsyth counties. The present area is 264 square miles .... In 1837 the court was ordered to be held at Mocksville. Mocksville, incorporated in 1839, is the county seat.

..., beginning at the junction of the North and South Yadkin rivers; thence up the South Yadkin river, to the Iredell county line; and all that part of the present county of Rowan, lying and being north of said river, shall hereafter constitute a separate and distinct county, to be called and known by the name of Davie, in honor of the revolutionary patriot, William R. Davie; ....

In 1925 an act to make certain and define the boundary line between Davie and Forsyth was passed.

That the Yadkin River be and the same is hereby made, fixed and designated as the true and correct boundary line between the counties of Davie and Forsyth.

above quoted from The Formation of the North Carolina Counties 1663-1943, by David Leroy Corbitt; published by NC Department of Cultural Resources; pages 88-89.


Parent County

1836--Davie County was created 20 December 1836 from Rowan County.
County seat: Mocksville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

  1. Daniel Boone's Parents
  2. John Stokes
  3. Hinton R. Helper
  4. Cooleemee Plantation
  5. Cokesbury School
  6. Boone Tract
  7. Hugh T. Lefler

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncdavie.png

Records at Davie County Public Library


Books

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Davie County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Churches

Baptist
  • Dutchman's Creek. Established by 1773.[3]
  • Bear Creek
    • [1792-1860] Bear Creek Baptist Church Minutes. Available at North Carolina Libraries and Archives in Raleigh.
    • [1859-1963] Bear Creek Baptist Church (Mocksville, N.C.) records. Available at Z. Smith Reynolds Library Special Collections and Archives. Wake Forest University.
Lutheran

Court


Images


Land

Land records are at the courthouse annex across the street from the courthouse on Main Street in Mocksville.

Davie County Register of Deeds
123 South Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
(336) 753.6080


Online Records Search

Local Histories

The First 3 books can be ordered from theDavie County Historical & Genealogical Society:

Maps

  1. Hughes Historical
  2. 1887 Alderman
  3. 1923 Merrell


Military

Civil War
  • The Civil War Roster of Davie County, North Carolina by Mary Alice Miller Hasty and Hazel Miller Winfree has just been published by McFarland.  This book contains family history, military history, and burial places for 1,147 men who served in the Confederate Army.  To order, NC residents send $64.26 and non-residents of NC send $60.00 (includes tax and shipping) to M and M Books, 105 East Brick Walk Court, Mocksville NC 27028. 

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

-4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company F
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company B
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company H
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F

Newspapers

Davie Record, 1899 - 1956

Mocksville Herald, January 4, 1912 - December 26, 1912

Mocksville Enterprise, January 5, 1922 - March 27, 1924

Davie County Enterprise-Record, 1922 - present

Cooleemee: Erwin Chatter Nov 1944 - March 1954; Cooleemee Journal July 1, 1965 - June 27, 1971

These newspapers can be searched on microfilm at the Davie County Public Library History Room.

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

  • See Web Site below for Family History Library Catalog.
  • The Davie County Registry of Deeds has copies of Birth & Death certificates starting from 1913; there are copies of Marriage Records from 1836. Downloadable forms for ordering can be viewed Here

Address:

Davie County Register of Deeds
123 South Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
(336) 753.6080

Marriages

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davie County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 20,254 times.