Daviess County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Daviess County

Guide to Daviess County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records


Daviess County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 24, 1816
County Seat Washington
Courthouse
Daviess County Indiana Courthouse.jpg
Address Daviess County Courthouse
PO Box 739;
Washington, IN 47501
Phone: 812.254.8664
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882*
 
1817*
 
1882*
 
1817
 
1817
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed 24 December 1816 from Knox county [1]
  • County Seat: Washington [2]


Neighboring Counties

Greene  • Martin  • Dubois  • Pike  • Knox

Daviess CountyKnox CountyGibson CountyPike CountyDubois CountyPerry CountyLawrence CountyMonroe CountyOwen CountyCaly CountyGreene CountySullivan CountyMartin CountyLawrence CountyRichland CountyEdwards CountyWabash CountyWayne CountyJasper CountyCumberland CountyClark CountyCrawford CountyINDaviess.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

1891

Set The Court House on Fire
Four Men, Including an Officer, Arrested at Washington, Ind., for Arson.

Washington, Ind., Oct. 14.-This city has witnessed the most exciting scenes in the history to-day. Detectives have been at work on the Court House fire, and up to this hour have arrested four persons supposed to be connected with the fire.
Samuel Harbine, a day laborer here, was arrested last night, charged with complicity in the burning of the records. After being arrested Harbine confessed the crime and implicated several prominent people in it, and as a result Auditor James H. Lavelle and I.B. Hawes, a prominent citizen of Steele township, were arrested this morning and placed in jail; also a man by the name of Basil Ledgerwood. The officers are now out after Michael Lavelle, a brother of the auditor.
Harbine's story is that Lavelle hired him to burn the court house for $500, only $5 of which he has been paid. It is reported that Ledgerwood is also anxious to turn State's evidence. He claims to have been given a house and lot for his part in the crime. Auditor Lavelle's bondsmen, becoming frightened at the turn affairs were taking, required him to turn all his property over to them yesterday.
Lavelle has been Auditor of the county for eight years and the fact that the people had confidence in him makes his arrest and accusation of the court house fire the sensation of the hour. From present circumstances it is supposed he is short in his accounts, but no one knows the amount. Experts are now at work on his books.
Hawes lives on a farm of 500 acres, owned by him, and is in good circumstances. He was brought in at the muzzle of a Winchester.

The four persons in jail were taken before Judge Hefron this morning. They waived a preliminary bail and Lavelle's and Hawes' were fixed at $5,000 each, and Harbine's and Ledgerwood's at $2,000 each. They are still in jail, not having given bond.

A special says that Ledgerwood and Harbine have pleaded guilty in court. Sentence was suspended by Judge Hefron, as they will be used as witnesses. 


The Daily Inter Ocean, Chicago, IL 15 Oct 1891 

source:gendisasters.com 

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Daviess County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Catholic

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Daviess County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • History of Knox and Davis Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present : with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the colonial days of Vincennes, and its progress down to the formation of the state government (Chicago, Goodspeed Pub. Co) 977.23 H2g FHL Collection  INTERNET ARCHIVE   other libraries
  • Living Leaders, an Encyclopedia of Biography: Special Edition for Daviess and Martin Counties, Indiana. ([New York?]: American Pub. Co, 1897.)  other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Kosciusko County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Kosciusko County.


  • Daviess County, Indiana: Regiments in the Civil War - INGenWeb


Civil War Book

  • "Military History" Chaper 6 in History of Knox and Davis Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present : with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the colonial days of Vincennes, and its progress down to the formation of the state government (Chicago, Goodspeed Pub. Co) Page 644-674.   977.23 H2g FHL Collection  INTERNET ARCHIVE   other libraries
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
  1. World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Daviess County (Source: Explore ancestry.com for free) ($)
World War II, 1941-1945
  1. Daviess County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Daviess County Indiana Courthouse.jpg
Davies  County Courthouse
PO Box 739;
Washington, IN 47501
Phone: 812.254.8664

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and
court records from 1817. [4]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Daviess County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Daviess County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Daviess County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.


Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Daviess County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Daviess County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daviess_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davies County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 20,247 times.