Davis County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Davis County

Guide to Davis County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Davis County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Davis County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1843
County Seat Bloomfield
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Davis County Courthouse
100 Courthouse Square
Bloomfield, IA 52537

641-664-2321

Davis County

History

Parent County

1843-- Davis County was created17 February 1843 from unorganized territory.  It was attached to Van Buren County prior to organization 1 March 1844. County seat:  Bloomfield [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Appanoose • Jefferson • Monroe • Van Buren • Wapello • Schuyler County, Missouri • Scotland County, Missouri

Davis CountyVan Buren CountyJefferson CountyWapello CountyMonroe CountyAppanoose CountyLee CountyHenry CountyWashington CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMarion CountyLucas CountyWayne CountyPutnam CountySchuyler CountyScotland CountyClark CountyKnox CountyAdair CountySullivan CountyIADavis.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Davis County Cemeteries--A list of more than 100 cemeteries was compiled by the Works Progress Administration in the 1930s and updated in 1993 by the Davis County Genealogical Society. A link to tombstone photographs is available online.

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Amish

Court

Naturalizations, Books 1 and 2, for Davis County are online. These records cover about 1879 to 1901.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

The County Recorder's Office is the custodian of the land records of Davis County. In addition to the deed books, this office has several historical records pertaining to land ownership in Davis County. Homestead entries, original land entries, plat books, etc. are among the many volumes included in their collection. The deed books and index, 1846-1911, and many other land records of the county have been microfilmed and are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Local Histories

A major county history of Davis County was published in 1882, which included brief biographical sketches of many of its residents. Many of those sketches are available online as a part of the Davis County page of Iowa GenWeb.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Davis County, Iowa for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Davis County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Davis County, Iowa:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry , Companies A, D and E
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B and F
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company E
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Several newspapers have been published in Davis County. A list of titles and dates of publication is available online.

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Davis - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Birth Records

Birth records kept by the District Court, 1880-1941, and delayed birth certificates, 1885-1944, have been microfilmed and are available at the State Historical Society in Des Moines and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Marriage Records

Davis County marriage records, 1844-1951, have been microfilmed and are available at the State Historical Society in Des Moines and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Death Records

The record of deaths kept by the District Court, 1880-1939, have been microfilmed and are available at the State Historical Society in Des Moines and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Abstracts of the death records of Davis County, 1880-1900, are on-line, in four segments.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Davis County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 94
Bloomfield, IA 52537

Family History Centers


Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Davis County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "davis county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "davis county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "davis county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Davis County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Davis County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Davis County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Davis County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Davis County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 July 2014, at 16:38.
  • This page has been accessed 11,573 times.