DeKalb County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png DeKalb County

Guide to DeKalb County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
DeKalb County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1835
County Seat Auburn
Courthouse
Address DeKalb County Courthouse
100 S Main Street PO Box 810
Auburn, IN 46706
Phone: 219.925.2112
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882
 
1837
 
1882
 
1837
 
1847
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed in 1835 from unorganized territory (Allen/LaGrange)[1]
  • County Seat: Auburn [2]


Neighboring Counties

Steuben  • La Grange  • Noble  • Steuben  • Allen  • Williams  • Defiance

DeKalb CountySteben CountyElkhart CountyNoble CountyKosciusko CountyLa Grange CountyWhitley CountyAllen CountyWilliams CountyDefiance CountyPaulding CountyVan Wert CountyAllen CountyPutnam CountyFulton CountySt. Joseph CountyHillsdale CountyBranch CountyCass CountyLenawee CountyHenry CountyINDeKalb.JPG



The county is named after Revolutionary War hero Johann de Kalb (1721-1780), a German baron.[3]
Johann de Kalb.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1913 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing DeKalb County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for DeKalb County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

History of DeKalb County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens. (Knightstown, Ind: The Bookmark, 1978.), 977.277 H2b FHL Collection   other library   Internet Archive

DeKalb County Historical Society (Ind.). 1885 History of De Kalb County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens : with New Index.( Knightstown, Ind: The Bookmark, 1978.) ,  977.277 H2hi  FHL Collection other library   Internet Archive

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from DeKalb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in DeKalb County.


Civil War Book


Sliger, Reba. Veterans' Cards for Veterans of DeKalb County Who Served in the Civil, Spanish-American, Mexican Wars: Copied from Records at the DeKalb County Courthouse,( Auburn, Indiana. Auburn, IN: The Chapter, 1990.) 977.277 M2s  FHL Collection  other library  Internet Archive


"Military History" Chaper 5 in History of DeKalb County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens. (Knightstown, Ind: The Bookmark, 1978.), page 90-117,  977.277 H2b FHL Collection   other library   Internet Archive


"The War for the Union," Chaper 5 in DeKalb County Historical Society (Ind.). 1885 History of De Kalb County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens : with New Index.( Knightstown, Ind: The Bookmark, 1978.) page 333-400,  977.277 H2hi  FHL Collection other library   Internet Archive

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

The Garrett Clipper: Obituary database from 1975 through January, 2012 provided courtesy of the Garrett Public Library.

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records
School Records

Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

De Kalb County Courthouse
100 S Main Street PO Box 810
Auburn, IN 46706
Phone: 219.925.2112

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and court records from 1837,
probate records from 1855 and school records 1903-1932.
County recorder has land records. [4]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for DeKalb County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

School Records

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the DeKalb County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the DeKalb County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "DeKalb County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DeKalb_County,_Indiana (accessed 2 August 2013).
  3. "Johann de Kalb," Wikipedia.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Kalb County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 14,475 times.