DeKalb County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png DeKalb County

Guide to DeKalb County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


DeKalb County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 25, 1845
County Seat Maysville
Courthouse
Address DeKalb County Courthouse
109 W Main Street
P O Box 248
Maysville, MO 64469-0248
Phone: 816.449.5402
DeKalb County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Recorder has marriage and divorce records;
County Clerk has birth records 1880-1902; probate
Judge has probate records[1]

History

Johann de Kalb.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero Johann de Kalb (1721-1780), a German baron.[2]

Parent County

1845--DeKalb County was created 25 February 1845 from Clinton County. County seat: Maysville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Andrew  • Buchanan  • Caldwell  • Clinton  • Daviess  • Gentry

DeKalb CountyDaviess CountyGentry CountyHarrison CountyRay CountyCarroll CountyLivingston CountyGrundy CountyMercer CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyClay CountyWorth CountyBuchanan CountyPlatte CountyAndrew CountyHolt CountyNodaway CountyAtchison CountyDoniphan CountyBrown CountyAtchison CountyRichardson CountyMODeKalb.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing DeKalb County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for DeKalb County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

MoDeKalb.jpg

Military

Civil War
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company G
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as DeKalb County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1805-1866 - DeKalb County Birth Index, Volumes B and C, 1805-1866. Batch C514871 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
  • 1845-1881 - DeKalb County Marriage Books B and C Index 1845-1881. Batch M514871 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1881-1885 - DeKalb County Marriage Book E Index 1881-1885. Batch M514872 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers


Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to DeKalb County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of DeKalb County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "DeKalb County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to DeKalb County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com DeKalb County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com DeKalb County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), DeKalb County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Johann de Kalb," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 20:26.
  • This page has been accessed 7,556 times.