DeRuyter, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Madison CountyGotoarrow.pngTown of DeRuyter

Contents

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

History

Additional Resources:

Madison County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of DeRuyter, NY

History of DeRuyter, New York

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following DeRuyter, New York newspaper images:

  • Deruyter NY Gleaner 1876-1963
  • Deruyter NY New Era 1876-1887

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

DeRuyter Free Library
Town Hall
735 Utica Street
DeRuyter, NY 13052
DeRuyter, NY 13052
Phone: 315-852-965

Oneida Public Library
220 Broad Street
Oneida, New York 13421
Phone: 315-363-3050

Genealogical resources: Local History Room
The Oneida Public Library’s Local History Room contains a noncirculating collection of over 1,560 books, pamphlets, maps and genealogical materials relating to the City of Oneida, Madison County, Oneida County and New York State. It also contains on microfilm Oneida City and Madison County newspapers dating back to 1846, a complete set of published directories of Oneida City and surrounding communities and U.S. Census data for Madison County from 1850 to 1930.

DeRuyter Museum
Trompton Historical Society
David Ball, Curator
712 Utica Street
DeRuyter, NY 13052
E–mail:ballderuyter@aol.com

Societies

Trompton Historical Society
David Ball, Curator
PO Box 176
DeRuyter, NY 13052
E–mail:ballderuyter@aol.com

Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter.

Town Clerk

Town Clerk
Rebecca (Becky) Wightman
735 Utica Street
DeRuyter, NY 13052
Mail: PO Box 394
DeRuyter, NY 13052
Phone: 315-852-9650
E-mail:becky@deruyternygov.us

Town Historian

No town historian currently assigned. Contact for more information:

Darla Snyder
Phone: 315-852-9543
1668 Cortland St.
DeRuyter, NY 13052

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for DeRuyter, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2012, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,961 times.