DeWitt County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png DeWitt County

Guide to DeWitt County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.3769°0′N 90.29451°0′W / 39.3769°N 90.2945°W / 39.3769; -90.2945

DeWitt County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting DeWitt County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: March 1, 1839
County Seat Clinton
Courthouse
DeWitt County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address DeWitt County Building
201 W. Washington Street
Clinton, Illinois 61727
(217) 935-7780
DeWitt County Website

Contents

County Organization

DeWitt County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for DeWitt County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1839 1877 1840 1839 1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for DeWitt County are kept, see the DeWitt County Courthouse page

Historical Facts

Governor DeWitt Clinton.JPG
DeWitt County, like Clinton County, is named for DeWitt Clinton who was the Governor of New York and chief promoter of the Erie Canal.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

History of DeWitt County, Illinois. Pioneer Publishing Company, 1910 FHL film 825564-825565 another filming 934982 items 2-3

History of DeWitt County, Illinois. 1882. FHL film 934981 item 2 also a FHL Book 977.3585 H2b

Portrait and Biographical Album of DeWitt and Piatt Counties, Illinois. 1891. FHl film 934981 item 3 also a FHL Book 977.3 D3de

Cemeteries

Gotoarrow.png Find A Grave, list of cemeteries. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)

Census

For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190018,972
191018,906−0.3%
192019,2521.8%
193018,598−3.4%
194018,244−1.9%
195016,894−7.4%
196017,2532.1%
197016,975−1.6%
198018,1086.7%
199016,516−8.8%
200016,7981.7%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, DeWitt County on page 186.]

State

Church Records

Church Records, 1834-1877 : in collection of Genevieve M. Dolle. Joseph A. Roof  FHL Collection

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

Directories

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

Periodicals

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Copies of original records are available:

1839-1875 Deed Records IRAD- ISU


Available through the Family History Library and Family History Centers


1868-1913 Deed Records. DeWitt County Recorder FHL film 1302589-1302592

Online Resources

Maps

Ildewitt.jpg

Military History and Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Revolutionary War

Veterans Burials (source: Genealogy Trails Histroy Group)

Civil War

Civil War service men from DeWitt County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dewitt County.

  • Artillery
- 1st Regiment, Illinois Artillery, New Battery K
  • Cavalry
- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company A
- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L
  • Infantry
- 20th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E
- 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K
- 39th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D and Company I.
- 41st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C, Company F, and Company K.
- 46th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H
- 68th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E
- 107th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A, Company B, Company D, Company F, and Company I
- 140th Regiment, Illinois, Infantry, Company H
- 145th Regiment, Illinois, Infantry, Company G
1865-1939 Military Discharge Record, Civil War. IRAD-ISU

1883 List of Pensioners (Source: Internet Archives)

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918DeWitt County (Source: Ancestry)

World War II

Casualties World War II - DeWitt County, Illinois (Source: Access Genealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for DeWitt County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1866-1903 Naturalization Records, County Court. IRAD-ISU

Available throught the Family History Library
1863-1898 Naturalization Records. DeWitt County Clerk FHL films 1312957 items 3-4 and 1312958 itme 1

Newspapers

DeWitt County (Source: Newspaper Abstracts)

Newspapers Published in De Witt County (Source: Illinois Newspaper Project)

Cataloged Titles (Source: Illinois Newspaper Project)

Chronicling America DeWitt County (Source: The Library of Congress)

Obituaries

Illinois Obituary Project (Source: USGenWeb Illinois Archives)

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for DeWitt County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1873-1894 Probate Administrator's Accounts IRAD-ISU

Available through the Family History Librar and Centers

1839-1950 Probate Listing DeWitt County, by George Wylder. FHL Book 977.3585 P22w

1850-1898 Wills and Letters. DeWitt County Clerk. FHL film 1301502 itmes 2-3

1862-1923 Records of Wills. DeWitt County Probate Court. FHL film 1295501 and 1301502

1866-1900 Adminstrative Records. DeWitt County Probate Court. FHL film 1301503 and 1301504

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for DeWitt County.

  • County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for DeWitt County are kept, see the DeWitt County Courthouse page.

  • Family History Center

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in DeWitt County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Find a FamilySearch Center

  • Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

  • Public Libraries

This library has extensive DeWitt County only extractions of many census. They have marriage index. They publish a quarterly Journal with extracts about people from old newspapers that include births, marriages and funerals. The also include little family notices about who was visiting who and who was at weddings and other family news items.

Social Groups Online

Societies

DeWitt County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 632
Clinton, Illinois 61717-0632
dewittcgs@yahoo.com

Taxation

1845-1851 Taxable Land Lists. IRAD-ISU
1888-1897 Road Tax Lists, Delinquent IRAD-ISU
1894-1911 Road Tax List. IRAD-ISU

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


DeWitt County Clerk
P.O. Box 439 Clinton,IL 61727-0439
1-217- 935-2119

Births

1877-1905 Birth Records. IRAD-ISU
1880-1930 Birth Certificates, Delayed. IRAD-ISU
1924-1958 Cirth Certificates. IRAD-ISU
1860-1950 Birth Records Index, Delayed. IRAD-ISU
1877-1959 Birth Records Index. IRAD-ISU

Online

1877-1885 - DeWitt County Birth Index 1877-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C731011.[2]

Available through the Family History Library

1877-1906 Birth Records and Index 1871-1930 FHL Collection

Marriages

1839-1955 Marriage Record. IRAD-ISU
1876-1935 Marriage License Applications. IRAD-ISU
1839-1949 Marriage Record Index. IRAD-ISU

Online

1839-1928 - DeWitt County Marriage Index 1839-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches M533791, M533792, M533793, and M732122.[2]

     1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900

Available through the Family History Library

1839-1928 Marriage Records and Index 1839-1901. FHL films 1295503, 1312955-1312957

Deaths

1878-1917 - DeWitt County Death Index 1878-1917 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[2]
1878-1917 Death Records. IRAD-ISU  Also available through the Family History LibraryFHL film 1292957 item 2
1886-1957 Death Certificates. IRAD-ISU
1878-1962 Death Record Index. IRAD-ISU Also available through the Family History Library FHL film 1293528 itme 2


1924-1977 DeWitt County Coroner's Inquest Files Index IRAD-ISU

Online Resources

Websites

'Databases Pertinent to DeWitt County '
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois
DeWitt County Coroner's Inquest Files Index (1924–1977)

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/9c/Igiillinoisd.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 29,420 times.