Deal, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Deal, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deal, Kent
Upper Deal St Leonard Kent.jpg
Upper Deal St Leonard Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

DEAL (St. Leonard), a sea-port, market-town, and parish, and a member of the town and port of Sandwich, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, on the coast of which it is situated, between the North and South Forelands, and near the great shipping roadstead, called the Downs, 18 miles (E. S. E.) from Canterbury, and 72 (E. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]


Deal is a town in the Dover District of Kent, see Deal, Kent Wikipedia

Upper Deal St Leonard is the Ancient Parish church of Deal. From this parish were formed Deal St George, Kent and Deal St Andrew, Kent

The parish church of Deal St Leonard, Rectory Road, Deal has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted 'The town and parish of Deal', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 1-23 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deal, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Deal, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1912 1559-1912 1559-1928 1559-1928 1559-1954 1559-1954

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Deal are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

See images for Borough of Deal Land tax assessments, 1722, 1732, 1771


Census records

Census returns for Deal 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[1] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Genealogy From Periodicals

Haughey, Betty.  The Bakers.  Article covers the history of Admiral John Baker of Deal, Kent, 1661-1716, and where he served, during his fascinating Naval career. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI, no.2, August, 1982, pages 65-66, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Dean, Judy.  Priscott Pride.  Family History of the Priscott family, beginning with Tom Priscott born 1883 and wife Ethel nee Capper.  Tom and Ethel had lived before that Deal in Kent, and Essex, Wrabness, but when Tom died, in 1924, the family were moved to Alverstoke, Hampshire.  There is a family history detail of each of the family, including a Wedding picture of Ruth Eliza Priscott to Alfred Gulliver 10 Seot. 1910, and many of the family are named.  Article is in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII, no.3, August, 1985 pages 145-147, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,542 times.