Dean, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Dean, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dean, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stodden
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union St Neots PLU
Registration District St Neots
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eaton
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEAN is also referred to as Dean Nether (All Saints), it is a parish, in the union of St. Neot's, the hundred of Stodden, and county of Bedford. It is 3½ miles W S from Kimbolton; and contains the hamlet of Upper Dean. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241195.

Church records

Dean, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Dean, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1858


IGI 1566-1875 1567-1885
NBI

1566-1851

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • St Neots

Poor Law Unions

  • St Neots

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dean on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 08 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,399 times.