Deane, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Deane, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Deane Parish.

Deane, Lancashire
Deane St Mary Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEANE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bolton-le-Moors, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1 mile (S. W. by W.) from Bolton. It comprises the townships of Heaton, Middle and Over Hulton, and Rumworth, which constitute the district attached to the parish church; and Halliwell, Horwich, Little Hulton,and West Houghton, which are separate chapelries. Tillvery lately, it included also Farnworth and Kearsley,which now form a separate vicarage. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Deane Parish has parish registers data content available online for its parish registers as well as for its several smaller attached chapelries, at the following web sites and range of years:

FS = Family Search.org
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
CBMD = CumbriaBMD.org.uk
LBMD= LancashireBMD.org.uk
DEANE PARISH ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1636) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1636-1813 1636-1813 1636-1813
AC 1813-1886 1754-1890 1813-1887
FS 1604-1829 1604- 1812 None
LOPC 1604-1750  1604-1750; 1837-1890 1604-1684; 1813-1887
AC 1613-1750 1613-1750 None
FMP
1604-1750
LBMD
1837-1992
DEANE ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST - see Farnworth with Kearsley



 
FARNWORTH ST JAMES CHAPELRY (1865) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1865-1911 1866-1925 1866-1952
AC None None None
FARNSWORTH WITH KEARSLEY ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST CHAPELRY (1826) Indexes

Baptisms  Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1840 1830-1849 None
LOPC 1826-1906  1830-1909 1826-1903
LBMD  None 1837-1992  None
HALLIWELL ST LUKE CHAPELRY (1871) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1870-1879 None None
AC None None None
CBMD
None  
HALLIWELL ST THOMAS CHAPELRY (1875) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS Var.yrs var.yrs None
LOPC 1875-1941 1875-1911  None
AC None None None 
CBMD None 1888-2005 None
HALLIWELL ST PETER CHAPELRY (1840) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1840-1924  1848-1957  1840-1965
AC None None None
HORWICH CHAPELRY (1660) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1660-1841 1832-1835, 1854-1881, 1910-1935 None
LOPC 1695-1860 1854-1881 1695-1873
AC None None None
LITTLE HULTON (PEEL) CHAPELRY (1760) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1760-1846; 1861-1894 None 1795-1796, 1875-1902
LOPC 1760-1884 1850-1959 1768-1978
AC None None None
LITTLE HULTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CHAPELRY (1861) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None 1795-1796, 1875-1902
LOPC 1861-1922 1876-1929 None
AC None None None
KEARSLEY ST STEPHEN CHAPELRY (1870) Indexes
FS None None None
LOPC 1870-1935 1872-1938  1874-1993 
AC None None None
WESTHOUGHTON ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1732) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1732-1840 1733-1754
None
LOPC 1874-1915 1874-1915 1874-1915
AC None None None
WESTHOUGHTON ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST WINGATES (1859) Chapelry Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1859-1900 None None
LBMD
1860-1992

There are additional later-built chapels within Deane Parish, whose registers can be accessed online at Lancashire Online Parish Clerk, i.e. Kearsley St Thomas (from 1878)., etc.
 

Original Records

Below are some of the Deane Parish registers available at the Family History Lbirary, Salt Lake City and its satellite familysearch centres worldwide: 

[Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection]

Parish registers for Deane, 1636-1890 Microfilm copy of originals are held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England (Manchester Central Library call nos.: L85/1/1/1-2, L85/1/2/1-7, L85/1/3/1-19, L85/1/4/1-9).
The following parish registers for Deane Parish (the ancient parish, only) are also on microfilm at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. These can be ordered for and searched, if desired (see above charts under "Deane Parish" for indexed/online data from these registers) at any one of its satellite familysearch centres worldwide:

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1636-1672; burials, 1637-1686; marriages, 1736-1668; Deane people married elsewhere, 1642-1663. Burials, 1668-1784; baptisms, 1672-1784; marriages, 1686-1754.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113065
Baptisms, 1785-1812 (includes Peel chapel); 1806-1807 (includes Smithills chapel); 1813-Oct. 1833.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113066
Baptisms, Oct. 1833-Apr. 1846.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113068 Item 1
Baptisms, Apr. 1846-Sep. 1886.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113067
Marriages, 1754-1797.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113068 Items 2 - 3
Marriages, 1798-June 1824.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113069
Marriages, June 1824-Oct. 1837.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113070
Marriages, July 1837-Oct. 1839.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113071
Marriages, Oct. 1839-Oct. 1846.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113072
Marriages, Nov. 1846-Apr. 1855.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113073
Marriages, Apr. 1855-Aug. 1871.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113074
Marriages, Sep. 1871-Mar. 1890.
Marriages, Apr. 1855-Aug. 1871.
Burials, 1781-1791; churchwardens' accounts, 1783-1784. Burials, 1792-1813; baptisms, 1806. Burials, 1813-Jan. 1844.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113076
Burials, Jan. 1844-Apr. 1862.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113077
Burials, Apr. 1862-Mar. 1887.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113078


Bishop's transcripts for Deane, 1613-1885 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Text in Latin and English.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/67-76

Contents
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1613-1640, 1670- 1783
FHL BRITISH Film
1545477 Items 3-8
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1790-1819
FHL BRITISH Film
1545478
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1820-1829
FHL BRITISH Film
1545479
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1830-1837; Baptisms and burials, 1838-1840
FHL BRITISH Film
1545480
Burials (cont.), 1840; Baptisms and burials, 1841-1863
FHL BRITISH Film
1545481
Baptisms and burials, 1864-1885
FHL BRITISH Film
1545482 Items 1 - 2


Lancshire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for the parish  history and transcripts of Baptisms. marriages and Burials can be found at http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Bolton-le-Moors/Deane/stmary/index.html

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306925.

Genealogy

Todd, Andrew A. Lowe of Heaton and Hinds. History and Family tree of Lowe of Heaton and Elton starting with Robert Lowe marrying 1. Alice Yates, and 2. Hannah Walls, dating 1784-1860, with the following surnames, Barlow, Wade, Nuttall, Garside, Settle, Blomley, Griffiths, Ogden, Blomley, Rushton, Pemberton. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine. vol.5,no.3,pages16-20, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:38.
  • This page has been accessed 9,573 times.