Debenham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Debenham, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Debenham, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thredling
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Bosmere and Claydon PLU
Registration District Bosmere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Claydon
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEBENHAM, a small town and a parish in Bosmere district, Suffolk. The town stands on the side of a hill, near the source of the river Deben, 7 miles W of Framlingham r. station, and 8 NNE of Needham-Market. There are an Independent chapel.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Debenham and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Debenham is in Bosmere district. To search an index of Bosmere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Debenham, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
Debenham, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1559-1754

FMP 1550-1898
FREG 1675-1695, 1698-1838
1655-1690, 1700-1823
1720-1744, 1761-1819
IGI To 1814
NBI

1562-1900

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details. 

Transcribed Records from Church records, Probates, etc. courtesy of Suzie Morley and Debenham One Place Study

Census records

There are census records available for Debenham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Debenham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Surname Index

Surnames from Debenham: Courtesy of Suzie Morley

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Debenham - One Place Study by Suzie Morley

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,788 times.