Decatur County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Decatur County

Guide to Decatur County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Decatur County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1821,
County Seat December
Courthouse
Address Decatur County Courthouse
150 Courthouse Square Suite 5
Greensburg, In 47240
Phone: 812-663-8223
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1822*
1882*
1822
1822
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed in 1821 from unorganized territory. [1]
  • County Seat: Greensburg [2]

Neighboring Counties

Rush  • Franklin  • Ripley  • Jennings  • Bartholomew  • Shelby

Ripley CountyJennings CountyDearborn CountyFranklin CountyFayette CountyRush CountyWayne CountyHenry CountyHancock CountyShelby CountyMarion CountyJohnson CountyBartholomew CountyJackson CountyDecatur CountyINDecatur.JPG



The county is named after U.S. naval officer Stephen Decatur (1779-1820).[3]

Stephen Decatur.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Decatur County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Decatur County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Decatur County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


  • Harding, Lewis A. 1915. History of Decatur County, Indiana its people, industries and institutions, with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. (Indianapolis: B. F. Bowen.)  977.216 H2h v. 1, 977.216 H2h v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection   other library   Vol. 1 INTERNET ARCHIVE,  Vol.2 INTERNET ARCHIVE   eBooksRead
  • African Methodist Episcopal Church (Greensburg, Indiana) (Added Author), Negro Cemetery (Clarksburg, Indiana) (Added Author), Decatur County (Indiana). Historian (Added Author), Black history, Decatur County, Indiana,'(Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987 ) FHL US/CAN Film 1531735 Item 18 FHL Collection 
  • Baldwin, Jane (Main Author), Baker, Ray Stannard, b. 1870 (Added Author), A history of the Negro in Decatur County, Indiana, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987)  FHL US/CAN Film 1531732 Item 6 FHL Collection 

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Decatur County, Indiana (Source:Internet Archive)
Civil War

Civil War service men from Decatur County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Decatur County.


Civil War Books


  • "Civil War," in "Military Record," Chapter 17 of Harding, Lewis A. 1915. History of Decatur County, Indiana its people, industries and institutions, with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. (Indianapolis: B. F. Bowen.) (page 420-464, Regiment, Companies,  Name's) 977.216 H2h v. 1, 977.216 H2h v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection   other library   Vol. 1 INTERNET ARCHIVE,  Vol.2 INTERNET ARCHIVE   eBooksRead


World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
  • Decatur County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)            (above was copy from Linkpendium)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Decatur County Courthouse
150 Courthouse Square Suite 5
Greensburg, In 47240
Phone: 812-663-8223

County Clerk has marriage record from 1822,
divorce, probate and court records.
Board of Health has birth and death records. [4]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

School Records

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Decatur County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Decatur County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Decatur County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decatur_County,_Indiana (accessed 2 August 2013).
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee", Wikipedia.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Decatur County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:44.
  • This page has been accessed 18,427 times.