Decatur County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Decatur County

Guide to Decatur County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Decatur County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Decatur County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1873
County Seat Oberlin
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Decatur County Courthouse
120 E. Hall
P.O. Box 89
Oberlin, Kansas 66749-0089
Phone: 785.475.8102

Contents

County Courthouse

Decatur County Courthouse
120 E Hall; PO Box 89;
Oberlin, KS 67749
Phone: 785.475.8102

Clerk District Court has birth, marriage and death records 1885-1913,
divorce and court records from 1881, probate records from 1891
and naturalization records from 1880.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1878
and military discharge records from 1862. [1]

History

Stephen Decatur.JPG

The county is named after U.S. naval officer Stephen Decatur (1779-1820).[2]

Parent County

1873--Decatur County was created 6 March 1873 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Oberlin [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksdecatur.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Decatur County Cemeteries gives the location of each cemetery and a transcription of graves in that cemetery.  Some cemeteries have not been transcribed as yet.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Decatur County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Decatur County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Decatur and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Links to Deaths in Decatur County links to Obituaries, 1880 Mortality Schedule, Registered Deaths November 28, 1885-July 1, 1911, and The Obituary Daily Times web site

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Decatur County, Kansas page 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Tennessee", Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 14:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,993 times.