Deer Lodge County, Montana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Deer Lodge County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Deer Lodge County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 2, 1865|
|Address|| Deer Lodge County Courthouse|
800 S Main Street
Anaconda, MT 59711-2999
Deer Lodge County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 2 February 1865 as an original county
- County seat: Anaconda 
- Neighboring Counties: Beaverhead | Granite | Jefferson
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Deer Lodge County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Mortgage records (1868-1928) and indexes (1879-1953), Anaconda, Deer Lodge County, Montana
- Deer Lodge County, Montana, deed records (1865-1925) ; indexes (direct and inverse), (1896-1988)
- Deer Lodge County, Montana, placer location and index, 1890-1937
- See an interactive map of Deer Lodge County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Deer Lodge County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers that may include residents of Deer Lodge County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Deer Lodge - Probate records.
- Probate records, (1890-1921) and probate indexes (1890-1921), Deer Lodge County, Montana Deer Lodge County Clerk of District Court, Anaconda, Montana.
County Clerk has birth, death, and land records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, div, court and
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Deer Lodge County Historical Society
401 E Commercial St
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Index to births, ca. 1886-1942 ; birth records, ca. 1903-1932, Deer Lodge County, Montana County Clerk Office, Deer Lodge County Courthouse in Anaconda, Montana
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages from 1865-1900
- Marriage records, 1865-1951 ; Index, 1865-1993
- General index 1888-1966, and divorce files 1890-1950, Deer Lodge County, Montana District Court Records
- Index to death records (1896-2004), death records (1903-2004), Anaconda, Deer Lodge County, Montana Clerk and Recorder Office in Anaconda, Montana.
- Kindred Trails Deer Lodge County, Montana
- Genealogy Inc Deer Lodge County, Montana
- Montana-Genealogy Deer Lodge County, Montana
- Access Genealogy Deer Lodge County, Montana
- USGenWeb Deer Lodge County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
- This page was last modified on 30 July 2015, at 18:18.
- This page has been accessed 11,479 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News