Deighton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Deighton

Guide to Deighton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deighton All Saints Yorkshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Deighton was a chapelry ofNorthallerton, Yorkshire Ancient Parish in Yorkshire.

DEIGHTON, KIRK (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Barwick (under Gilbert's act), Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; containing 539 inhabitants, of whom 168 are in the township of North Deighton, and 371 in that of Kirk-Deighton, one mile (N. by W.) from Wetherby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


ALSO

DEIGHTON, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Northallerton, wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Northallerton; containing 132 inhabitants. [2]

ALSO

DEIGHTON, a township, in the parish of Escrick, wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, union andE. riding of York, 5¼ miles (S. by E.) from York; containing 185 inhabitants. It includes the hamlet of Crocky Hill.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Deighton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
DEIGHTON CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1686-1859 1686-1859 1686-1930 1686-1930
FS 1783-1871

1757-1876

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels in the whole ancient parish of Northallerton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the NORTHALLERTON PARISH page.


The Bishop's Transcripts collection of Durham Bishop's transcripts are available free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Deighton (in Northallerton Yorkshire) Parish register Transcripts
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections
DDR/EA/PBT/2/74
Bishop's Transcripts Image only Collection FamilySearch Historical Records
[March 1661]-March [?1663]
May 1673-May 1674
March 1715-March 1716
1718- [April 1719]
In addition some transcripts for Deighton appear in the Northallerton parish series in Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection reference HBT 25-27

25 March 1714-25 March 1715 [25 March] 1727-
25 March 172[8], 25 March 1729- 25 March-1731,
(Deighton transcript [25 March] 1727 – [25 March] 1728 in included with Northallerton transcripts)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 3,015 times.