Delamere, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Delamere

Guide toDelamere, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Delamere St Peter.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Delamere St Peter became a parish 1812 from the formerly extra-parochial area of Delamere Forest, and serving the townships of Delamere, Eddisbury, Kingswood and Oakmere.

The church was built in 1817 to a design by James Gunnery at the expense of local Freemasons. It was much altered in 1878 and a vestry was added in 1915.

DELAMERE, is a township in Northwich district, and a parish partly also in Runcorn district, Cheshire. The township lies 5½ miles W by S of Hartford railway station, and 10 miles E by N of Chester. The parish contains also the townships of Eddisbury, Oak mere, and Kingswood; and its post town is Kelsall, under Chester. There are two dissenting chapels.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Delamere St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Delamere St Peter Parish (1812) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1869-1906

FS PR's 1817-1909
  NONE
1818-1934
  NONE
1820-1948
  NONE
FS BT'S 1817-1876   NONE
1818-1831
  NONE
1820-1876
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for Delamere, 1817-1972 Cheshire Record Office number: P108/1-4, P108/3/2-5, P108/4/2, P108/10/1, P108/6173/1-3.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1817-1918; marriages, 1818-1869; burials, 1820-1870. BRITISH 1655856 Items 4 - 6
Marriages, 1869-1919. Burials, 1870-1905. Church accounts, 1817-1913. BRITISH 1655857 Items 1 - 3
Marriages, 1919-1951. Burials, 1905-July 1929. BRITISH 2262945 Items 11 - 15
Burials, July 1929-1948. BRITISH 2262946 Item 1
Parish registers for Delamere, 1817-1972 BRITISH 2262947 Items 14 - 16

Bishop's transcripts for Delamere, 1817-1876 Cheshire Record Office Call number: EDB 76

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1817-1819, 1876. Burials, 1876. Marriages, 1818. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1820-1823, 1825-1831. BRITISH 1647369 Item 6

Non-Conformist Churches

  •  Delamere, Presbyterian Chapel. Built in 1816.
  •  Delamere, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion).
  •  Delamere, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Northwich (1837–1974)
  •  Vale Royal (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  •  Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 29 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 197, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 3,401 times.