DelawareEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Delaware

Guide to Delaware genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records

This article is about the eastern U.S. state. For other uses, see Delaware (disambiguation).

News and Events
Delaware Genealogical Society calendar
Delaware Topics
Moderator
Join the Wiki Team
Become a State Moderator.
 .
Adopt-a-wiki page
DElogo.gif This page adopted by:
DEGenWeb Project
Adopt a page today

Welcome to the Delaware page,
the First State

Hagley mill race, Brandywine Creek, New Castle County, DE.
Most unique genealogical features:
  • DE was part of "New Sweden." Many early church records were in Swedish.
  • Later, Delaware was also briefly part of New Netherland.
  • Due to boundary disputes, some early DE land records are found in MD.[1]
   How to Find Information about Delaware Ancestors

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Delaware Counties

Sussex CountyKent CountyNew Castle CountyDelaware-county-map.gif
Extinct or Renamed Jurisdictions:  Deale | Hoarekill | New Amistel | St. Jones | Upland | Durham, MD | old Worcester, MD | New Netherland | New Sweden

Click on the map to go to a county page. Hover over it to see a county name. To see a larger map, click here.

Major Repositories

Delaware Public Archives · Historical Society of Delaware · Delaware Genealogical Society · National Archives Mid Atlantic Region (Philadelphia) · Allen County Public Library
Delaware.png

Migration Routes

Delaware River · Atlantic Coast Ports · Fall Line Road · King's Highway

Featured Content

The article, United States Emigration and Immigration lists several important sources for finding information about immigrants. These nationwide sources include references to people who settled in Delaware. Also, the Tracing Immigrant Origins article introduces the principles, search strategies, and additional record types you can use to identify an immigrant ancestor's hometown.

Research Tools

Delaware flag.png

Wiki articles describing these articles are found at:


Obtain additional help

Help with the Delaware Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:

  • Expand county articles
  • Check links on pages
  • ...and more

Find more opportunities to help with the Delaware pages.


To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:

Sources

  1. Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 297. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). [WorldCat entry].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 03:12.
  • This page has been accessed 22,416 times.