Delaware County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Delaware County
This article is about an east-central county of Indiana. For other uses, see Delaware (disambiguation)
Guide to Delaware County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Delaware County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 26, 1907 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Muncie | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Delaware County Courthouse 100 W Main Street Muncie, IN 47305 Phone: 765.747.7726 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Collins Cemetery, Center BillionGraves
- Gardens of Memory Cemetery, Muncie BillionGraves
Census Records
For tips on accessing Delaware County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Delaware County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Muncie
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Histories
Local Histories
- Haimbaugh, Frank D. 1924. History of Delaware County, Indiana. (Indianapolis: Historical Pub. Co.) FHL US/CAN Film 934902 Items 2-3 FHL Cottection other library
- Kemper, G. W. H. 1908. A twentieth century history of Delaware County, Indiana. (Chicago: Lewis Publ. Co.)977.265 D3k v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries Vol. 1 FamilySearch Books Online; Vol. 2 FamilySearch Books Online INTERNET ARCHIVE
- History of Delaware County - Linkpendium
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Delaware County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
Military Records
Delaware County, Indiana Military Links & Records
Revolutionary War
- Residents of Delaware County Who Served in the Revolutionary War ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
War of 1812
- Residents of Delaware County Who Served in the War of 1812 ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War
Civil War service men from Delaware County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Delaware County.
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company G
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies L, and M
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A, and D
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies G, and L
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and F
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and L
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company E
- 36th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 57th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and F
- 84th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B, D, and K
- 110th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies
- 111th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, D, F, and I
- 118th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company C
- 124th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 134th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, and G
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and E
- 154th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Books
- "The Civil War of 1861" Chaper 12 in Kemper, G. W. H. 1908. A twentieth century history of Delaware County, Indiana. (Chicago: Lewis Publ. Co.) (page 347-425, Regiment, Companies, Name's), Vol. 1 FamilySearch Books Online Vol. 2 FamilySearch Books Online; 977.265 D3k v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Delaware County Courthouse
100 W Main Street
Muncie, IN 47305
Phone: 765.747.7726
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1827. [1]
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Muncie Indiana Family History Center
- Muncie Indiana Family History Center
School Records
- Students of Muncie Central High School, Muncie (1955-1957) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Directory of Teachers (1936) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 - FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959 - FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
Voter Registration
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Delaware County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Delaware County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:48.
- This page has been accessed 2,248 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
