Delaware County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Delaware County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
This article is about a central county of Ohio. For other uses, see Delaware (disambiguation)
| Delaware County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Delaware County Courthouse 91 N. Sandusky Delaware, Ohio 43015-1703 Delaware County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Franklin County 10 February 1808.[1]
- County Seat: Delaware
- Neighboring Counties: Delaware County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Marion (north) · Franklin (south) · Union (west) · Morrow (northeast) · Knox and Licking (east)
Boundary Changes
Delaware County gave up land for the formation of Morrow County in February 1848. The townships of Bennington, Harmony, Lincoln, Peru and Westfield went to Morrow County.
- See an interactive map of Delaware County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Delaware County Burials (60,000 listed)
- Delaware County, Ohio Cemeteries and Locations
- Delaware County, Ohio Cemeteries
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- Ohio Tombstone Photo Project
- Links to resources on cemetery history and preservation
- Epodunk Cemetery Search
- Find a Grave (91 cemeteries listed)
- Ohio Gravestones
- Ohio Cemetery Preservation Society
- Cemeteries of Delaware County, Ohio
- Delaware County Cemeteries
- Delaware County, Ohio Cemetery Photos
- Many Cemetery records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- Census Ohio
- U. S. City Directories, Ohio, Delaware $
- United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850
- United States Census 1850
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850- 1880 $
- 1820 United States Federal Census $
- 1830 United States Federal Census $
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1850
- United States Census, 1860
- United States Census 1860
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1870
- United States Census 1870
- United States Census, 1880 (Index only)
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- 1890 Veterans Schedule $
- United States Census, 1900
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1920
- United States Census 1920
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
- Churches near Delaware County, Ohio
- Delaware County, Ohio Churches
- Many church records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
- Delaware County Estate Records (Prior to 1850) Index only
- Many court records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Delaware County was established in 1807 with the County Seat in Berkshire until 1808. In 1815 the courthouse was built in Delaware.
Local Histories
- History of Delaware and Ohio O. L. Baskins Co. Historical Publishers, Chicago 66 Dearborn Street. 1880
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henry Howe Vol. 1 1888
- Delaware County History and Information
- Delaware County Pioneers
- Celebrating 200 Years of Ohio History 1808-2008
- Biographical Index of Delaware County, Ohio
- 20th Century History of Delaware County, Ohio and Representative Citizens (1908)
- Delaware County Ohio Biography (WorldCat)
- Delaware County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Delware County Markers
- History of Delaware County
- Natural Register of Historic Places
- Many Biography records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many history records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search
- U. S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907, Ohio, Delaware $
- Many land and property records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Maps
- Ohio County Formation Map
- Delaware County Maps & Atlas Links
- Modern Delaware County, Ohio
- Ohio Territory Grant Map
- Nathional Atlas (Printable maps)
- Ohio County Census Maps
- Ohio Migration Trails
- Ohio Atlas Maps
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- The Plan of the Town of Delaware (1808)
- Delaware County 1895 U. S. Atlas
- Delaware County Land Ownership Atlases (1866) $
- Many maps for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
Revolutionary War
Many Revolution, 1775-1783 records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Civil War
Civil War service men from Delaware County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Delaware County.
- - 4th Regiment, Ohio Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company C (also known as Delaware Guards) and Company I (also known as Olentangy Guards)
- -96th Regiment
- Civil War Research Databse $
- Civil War Pension Index Cards (about this collection)More information at United States, Civil War and Later Pension Files Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- 48th Ohio Veteran Volunteer Infantry
- The America Civil War - Roster of the 96th O. V. I.
- 96th Ohio Infantry
- Delaware County Burials of Civil War Soldiers
- Delaware's War Heroes
World War I
World War II
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942
- U. S. World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 $
- Delaware County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
- War Veteran/History Links
- United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- Many military records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Naturalizations and Citizenships
- Many naturalization and citizenship records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Delaware County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- Delaware County Newpapers Arranged Alphabetically
- The Delaware Gazette
- The Delaware Gazette $
- The Delaware Gazette $ (2004-2008)
- The Delaware Gazette Obituaries. Records are available from 8/29/2008 to Present
- Delaware County Newspaper Abstracts (1821-1918)
- Newspapers of Delaware County, Ohio
- Obituary Index, Delaware County, Ohio
- The Sunbury News Obituary Records are available from 10/09/2008 to Present
- The Sunbury News $ November 2004- January 2009
- Many newspapers for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many newspaper obituaries for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Delaware County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Delaware County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Early Wills Index Will Book A
- Many probate records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Delaware County Courthouse
91 N Sandusky Street
Delaware, OH 43015
Phone: 740.369.8761
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and court records from 1825;
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
County Recorder has land records[1]
- Delaware County Courthouse
- Delware County Ohio Official Site
- Delaware County Common Pleas Court
- Delaware County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
Family History Centers
Libraries
- DCHS-DCGS Library Holdings
- Publications from DCHS-DCGS
- Delaware County District Library
- Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center
- Libraries of Delaware County, Ohio
Museums
Societies
Schools
- Delaware County Schools
- U. S. School Yearbooks in Delaware $
- 50 Years of History of the Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware, Ohio 1844
- Methodist Theological School in Ohio
- Ohio Wesleyan University
- Ohio Wesleyan University
- U. S. School Yearbooks in Sunbury
- Many school records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Taxation
- Index to Tax List of Ohio for 1810
- Many tax records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Delaware County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Delaware County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Delaware County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Online Ohio Death Records & Indexes
- About Death Records in Ohio
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2002 $
- Delaware General Health District, Death Certificates
- Social Security Death Index
- Delaware County Vital Records
- Many vital records for Delaware County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Places
Populated Places
Cities
|
|
Townships
|
|
|
Boroughs
- Kilbourne
- Lewis Center
- Radnor
Ghost Towns
A ghost town could be many things; a near ghost town, semi-ghost town or completely vacant buildings or ground. These towns have greatly diminished from their once robust times. Some towns may still be quite active and residents may not favor the classification of a ghost town for their community. The definition of a ghost town is a town with big declines in population and activity. [4]They could be stagecoach stops, railroad camp town, mining community, military post or agricultural towns. When a gold or silver strike happened, towns would spring up, seemingly overnight and just as quickly fade away.
|
|
|
Websites
- City of Delaware, Ohio
- The Townships of Delaware County, Ohio USA
- Delaware County Populated Places
- Ghost Towns of Delaware County
- Family History Library Catalog
- Delaware Chamber of Commerce
- Delaware County, Ohio links
- Cyndi's List
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ohio USGenWEb Searchable Archives
- Delaware County, Ohio Genealogy Forum
- Linkpendium Delaware County
- Big Walnut Memory
- Ohio Genealogy Express
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Delaware County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delaware_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Ghost towns in Utah
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 01:27.
- This page has been accessed 4,368 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


