Delaware County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Delaware County
- This article is about a county of southeast Pennsylvania. For other uses, see Delaware (disambiguation)
Delaware County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Delaware County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | September 26, 1789 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Media | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | The Courthouse and Government Center Complex 201 West Front Street Media, PA 19063 Delaware County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Delaware County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Chester County 26 September 1789.[1]
- County Seat: Media
- Neighboring Counties: Delaware County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Montgomery (north) • Chester (west) • York (south) • Philadelphia (east) • New Castle County, Delaware (southwest) • Gloucester County, New Jersey (south)
- Named for the Delaware River
- The County seat prior to 1851 was Chester City and it was county seat for Chester County, too.
- Since 1851, the county seat has been Media.
- Named for the Delaware River
1641: Swedes and Finns spreading north from Fort Christina (present-day Wlimington, Delaware) first settle in Finland (Chamassungh), now Trainer, Pennsylvania[3][4][5] and Upland (Meckopenacka), now Chester, Pennsylvania.[6][7][8] The New Sweden Colony continues to expand northward with new settlements as far as Philadelphia in the following years.
1651-1655: The New Netherland Colony builds Fort Casimir[9][10][11] (now New Castle, Delaware), settle Sandhook,[12][13][14] and abandon Fort Beversrede (now Philadelphia) in 1651. In 1654 New Sweden captures Fort Casimir from the Dutch without a fight and renames it Fort Trinty (Trefaldighets).[15] In 1655 New Netherland returns with a large army and all of New Sweden in presend-day Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey submits to Dutch rule.[16]
1664: As part of the Second Anglo-Dutch War New Netherland including southeast Pennsylvania is surrendered to the English.[17]
1673-1674: A new war breaks out and the Dutch send a large armada to retake New Netherland for a few months. But as the war ends the colony is ceeded to England for the last time.[18]
1680s: William Penn founded the English colony of Pennsylvania after receiving a grant in 1681 from the king of England. His colony offered religious freedom, liberal government, and inexpensive land. Quakers established the city of Philadelphia.
Delaware County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com | Findagrave.com | |
| Interment.net | Names in Stone | |
| USGenWeb-transcripts USGenWeb-Tombstone photos |
Billion Graves | |
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | Epodunk | |
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Har Jehuda Cemetery, Upper Darby BillionGraves
Mount Moriah Cemetery, Philadelphia/Yeadon BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Delaware County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
- 1671 Transcription and Index
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
The Museum/Research Library of the History of Delaware County holds a number of Church Records related to Delaware County. A search of these church records can be made by submitting a research request by mail.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Jonathan Worrall Justice of the Peace Docket
- W.P.A. Project/Gravestone Inscriptions
- Chadds Ford: St. Luke's Church, Chadds Ford
- Chester: Chester Rural Cemetery Association; Madison Street United Methodist Church; Providence Avenue United Methodist Church; St. Paul's Episcopal Church; United Methodist Church
- Essington: Protestant Episcopal Church of St. John the Evangelist
- Gradyville: Record of Pastors
- Manoa: Bethesda Methodist Episcopal Church
- Marcus Hook: St. Martin's Episcopal Church
- Media: First Methodist Episcopal Church
- Middletown: Wesley United Methodist Church
- Newtown: Newtown Cemetery Association
- Norwood: Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Philadelphia: Benjamin Paschall Justice of the Peace Docket
- Radnor: St. Martin's Episcopal Church
- Rockdale: Calvary Episcopal Church of Rockdale
- Rose Valley: Old Union Methodist Church
- Rosemont: Good Shepherd Episcopal Church; Radnor Methodist Church
- Springfield: Springfield Friends Graveyard; St. John's Lutheran Church Springfield
- Thornbury: Stony Bank Methodist Episcopal Church
- Wallingford: Trinity Lutheran Church
- Yeadon: Fernwood Cemetery; Holy Cross Roman Catholic Cemetery
- Contains the church records of:
- 1682-1800 - Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Delaware County, 1682-1800. Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Publications, 1995. FHL Book 974.814 K2h.
- Contains the church records of Chester Monthly Meeting, Chester; Concord Monthly Meeting, Concord Township; Darby Monthly Meeting, Darby; Radnor Monthly Meeting, Radnor Township; St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church, Chester; St. David's Protestant Episcopal Church, Radnor Township.
Cyndie Enfinger has compiled a detailed list of Delaware County, Pennsylvania churches at PAGenWeb - free.
- Delaware County Church Records at Delaware County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives including records for several churches.
Episcopalian
St. David's Church, Radnor
Communion lists begin in 1722, baptisms in 1727, marriages and burials in 1800.[19]
St. John's Church, Concord
Early registers are lost.[19]
St. Paul's Church, Chester
Registers begin in 1704.[19]
- 1704-1733 - Marriage Record of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Chester, 1704-1733 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 5) at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
St. Martin's Church, Marcus Hook
Vestry books begin in 1724.[19]
Presbyterian
First Presbyterian Church of Darby, Glenolden
- 1842-1885 - First Presbyterian Church of Darby, Glenolden, Marriage Index 1842-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M524431.[20]
Presbyterian Church, Chester
- 1853-1880 - Presbyterian Church, Chester, Baptism Index 1853-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C524201.[20]
- 1856-1900 - Presbyterian Church, Chester, Marriage Index 1856-1900 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M524201.[20]
Presbyterian Church, Darby
- 1840-1875 - Presbyterian Church, Darby, Baptism Index 1840-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C524431.[20]
Court Records
Delaware County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Delaware County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Delaware County, Pennsylvania County has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[21]
Clerk of the Courts
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[22] For the Delaware County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Delaware County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
The Office of the Prothonotary in Delaware County has been merged into a new department called the Office of Judicial Support.
Director: Angela L. Martinez, Esquire
Government Center, Room 126
201 W. Front Street
Media, PA 19063
Phone: 610-891-4370
Orphan's Court (see Vital Records)
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[23]
For Delaware County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
If you are looking for a birth record between 1893 and 1906, please visit the Register of Wills department located at the Government Center.
Register of Wills & Clerk of Orphans' Court Division
Director: Hugh A. Donaghue, Esquire
Government Center
201 W. Front Street
Media, PA 19063
Phone: 610-891-4400
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Delaware County (over 1500)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Delaware County began in 1770. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Media, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1982–present Delaware County offers online access to records. Fees apply.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1770–1914 Deeds, 1770-1866; Deed Index, 1789-1914. FHL film 852934 (first of 57 films)
- 1789–1912 Mortgages, 1789-1825; Index to Mortgages, 1789-1912. FHL films 931860–931869
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable image from the 1880 Atlas of Delaware County, Pennsylvania by Benjamin H. Smith. This atlas located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
- Delaware County Maps at Delaware County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Migration
Military
Revolutionary War
Men in what is now Delaware County (then Chester County) served in the 5th Pennsylvania Regiment.[24]
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1795-1952 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1248, browseable images of card index.
- 1795-1931 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1522, browseable images of petitions, no index, use index listed above.
- 1795-1930 – Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1795-1930 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522, incomplete for all counties.
- 1795-1930 - Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522.
- 1795-1990 – Delaware County: Naturalization Records Index 1795-1990 on Delaware County, Pennsylvania website - free
- 1795-1990 – Delaware County: Naturalization Records Index 1795-1990 on Delaware County, Pennsylvania website - free
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1795–1906 Naturalization Papers FHL Film 1378539–1378631
- 1777–1785 Oaths of Allegiance and Fidelity FHL Collection
- 1777–1785 Oaths of Allegiance and Fidelity FHL Collection
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Delaware County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Delaware County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Delaware County.
- Delaware County Obituaries (by surname) at Delaware County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives.
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Delaware County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
Many original Delaware County probate records are available free online as digital images at:
- 1789-1973 - Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org - free. Includes Delaware County, Pennsylvania Wills and Administration Record Index (1789-1973), Will Books A-U (1789-1908); Letters of Administration Vols. 1-4 (1789-1917); Orphans' Court Docket Index (1789-1865), Orphans' Court Dockets Vols. A-J (1790-1882); Recognizance Book (1835-1888).
Probate records can be found at the Delaware County Archives .
- Administrations - 1790-1935 - online index
- Wills - 1789-1935. - online index
Online Will Abstracts
- Wills (by surname) at Delaware County USGenWeb Archives.
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1789-1908 Wills FHL film 930566 (first of 25 films) - Index included: 1789-1973
- 1789-1908 Wills FHL film 930566 (first of 25 films) - Index included: 1789-1973
Repositories
Archives
- Delaware County Archives
340 North Middletown Rd
Building 19
Lima PA 19063
Mailing Address:
201 West Front Street
Media PA 19063
Email: archives@co.delaware.pa.us
- Delaware County Archives
- The archives has will administrations 1790-1935; county home records 1806-1929; birth 1852-1906; marriage records 1852-1854 and 1885-1940; death records 1852-1854 and 1893-1906; court records 1790-1929; veterans' graves registration 1775-2010; prison records 1873-1917; naturalization records 1795-1990; wills 1789-1935; and more.
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Delaware County Courthouse
The Courthouse and Government Center Complex
201 West Front Street
Media, PA 19063
Telephone: (610)-891-4000
Office hoursL 8:30 a.m to 4:30 p.m.
Offices of County are found in the Departments link on any og the pages. Departments of interest to geanealogists include:
- Recorder of Deeds - The Recorder of Deeds processes and preserves records relating to real property dating back to 1789. All records are preserved on microfilm.
- Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' Court Division - The Register of Wills is responsible for matters relating to probate and the Orphans Court maintains the records of marriages.
- Treasurers Office - Tax records are here.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
Libraries
Delaware County Library System (DCLS)
Administrative Headquarters
340 N. Middletown Rd., Fair Acres Bldg. 19,
Media, PA 19063
Phone: 610-891-8622
Fax: 610-891-8641
Online Catalog
There are 22 libraries in the DCLS library system. They have a sizable genealogy and biography collection.
Museums
- Christian C. Sanderson Museum
P.O. Box 153
1755 Creek Road (Old Route 100)
Chadds Ford, PA 19317
PHONE: 610-388-6545
Email: info@sandersonmuseum.org
The museum also has a family name index "for stories to augment your genealogy research."
Founded in 1732. Has Research facilities.
- Pennsylvania Veterans Museum
Media Armory
12 East State Street
Media, PA 19063
Phone: 610-566-0788
Education is the main focus. It is also creating a living history database.
Societies
Delaware County Historical Society
408 Ave. of the States
Chester, PA 19013
Telephone: (610) 359-0826
Hours: Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; Thursday 1:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.; Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Parking: Free parking is on the DCHS lot behind the building off 4th Street or in the municipal lot across 4th Street.
The Delaware County Historical Society has been collecting and preserving items of the county's history. The research library contains an extensive collection of Bible, birth, burial, census, church, court, genealogical, land and marriage records, as well as maps, newspapers, telephone books, city directories, and yearbooks. The museum hosts four exhibits a year.
Taxation
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
- Delaware County Tax Lists for several townships courtesy Delaware County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Vital Records
For birth and death records prior to 1906 contact:
Delaware County Archives
340 North Middletown Rd
Building 19
Lima PA 19063
Mailing Address:
201 West Front Street
Media PA 19063
Birth and Death Records (610) 891-5620
Marriage Records (610) 891-4403
Divorce Records (610) 891-4370
archives@co.delaware.pa.us
Hours: Tues, Wed, Thurs 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1854 Birth Records, online index
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1893-1906 Birth Records, online index
- 1889-1906 Chester Birth Records, online index
- 1893-1896 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years.
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Marriage
The following records are available at the Delaware County Archives:
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1852-1854 Marriage Records, online index
- 1885 - Delaware County Marriage Index 1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M524601.[20]
- 1885-1940 Marriage Records, online index
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
- 1887-1907 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years.
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Delaware County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
The following records are available at the Delaware County Archives:
- 1852-1854 Death Records, online index
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1893-1906 Death Records, online index
- 1893-1906 - Delaware County Death Index 1893-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[20]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delaware County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Yearbooks
- Swathmore College: 1883-1956 (Online at the Internet Archive)
Delaware County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- The Delaware County PAGenWeb Project, an member of The PAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Family History Library Catalog
Delaware County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
- City: Chester
- Boroughs: Aldan . Brookhaven . Chester Heights . Clifton Heights . Collingdale . Colwyn . Darby . East Lansdowne . Eddystone . Folcroft . Glenolden . Lansdowne . Marcus Hook . Media . Millbourne . Morton . Norwood . Parkside . Prospect Park . Ridley Park . Rose Valley . Rutledge . Sharon Hill . Swarthmore . Trainer . Upland . Yeadon
- Townships: Aston . Bethel . Chadds Ford . Chester . Concord . Darby . Edgmont . Haverford . Lower Chichester . Marple . Middletown . Nether Providence . Newtown . Radnor . Ridley . Springfield . Thornbury . Tinicum . Upper Chichester . Upper Darby . Upper Providence
- Communities: Ardmore . Boothwyn . Bortondale . Bowling Green . Broomall . Cheyney . Drexel Hill . Elwyn . Folsom . Garden City . Garnet Valley . Garrett Hill . Glen Mills . Glen Riddle . Gradyville . Haverford . Havertown . Lenni . Lima . Linwood . Moylan . Pine Ridge . Radnor . Riddlewood . Rosemont . Rose Tree . Secane . South Media . St. Davids . Strafford . Villanova . Village Green-Green Ridge . Wallingford . Wawa . Wayne . Woodlyn
Delaware County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ "New Sweden" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Sweden (accessed 7 November 2008).
- ↑ Albert Cook Myers, Narratives of Early Pennsylvania, West New Jersey and Delaware, 1630-1707 (New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1912; reprint Barnes and Noble, 1959; digitized by Google, 2008), 69, note 3. "Chamassung or Finland, where the Finns dwelt, was on the west side of the Delaware River, between the present Marcus Hook in Pennsylvania, and the mouth of Naaman's Creek just over the circular state line in Delaware."
- ↑ Memoirs of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, v. 3, (Philadelphia:M'Carty and Davis, 1834; digitized by Google, 2006), 11. "Chamassungh, or Finland. This place was inhabited by Finns, who had strong houses, but no fort. It lies at the distance of two German miles, east of Christina, by water; and, by land, it is distant two long Swedish miles."
- ↑ Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
- ↑ Johnson, Swedish Settlements, 372. "Johann Companius, who was called by the government to go to New Sweden in 1642, was placed on the new budget, with a salary of 10 R.D. a month and seems to have been looked upon as a sort of military preacher. He was stationed at Christina, but shortly after his arrival here he was transferred to Upland, where he settled with his family and conducted the service at New Gothenborg."
- ↑ Myers, 150. "If now [the land at] Upland, which belongs to the Company, and is large enough for the sowing of twenty or thirty bushels of grain, might be given to the parsonage for Nertunius, together with the small houses there, it would be very well; then he would need no other salary from the Company." and footnote 4, "Now Chester."
- ↑ Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
- ↑ "Fort Casimir" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fort_Casimir (accessed 7 November 2008).
- ↑ Philip S. Klein, and Ari Hoogenboom, "A History of Pennsylvania, 2nd ed." (University Park, Penn.: Penn State Press, 1980; digitized by Google at http://books.google.com/books?id=AB24rFZOmzcC), 11.
- ↑ Johnson, Detailed Map.
- ↑ Peter Stebbins Craig, "Chronology of Colonial Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1712" in The Swedish Colonial Society [Internet site] at http://www.colonialswedes.org/History/Chronology.html (accessed 10 November 2008). Originally published in Swedish Colonial News, vol. 2, number 5 (Fall 2001). "1651 - Dutch build Fort Casimir at Sand Hook (New Castle) and abandon Fort Bevers-reede in Schuylkill."
- ↑ Johnson, Swedes on the Delaware, 294. "In October, Novermber, and December the new freemen were ordered to clear their lands at various places, for the purpose of planting maize in the coming spring; and several fields at Sandhook, at Fort Christina and up at the [Christina] River were cleared and sewn for the benefit of the company with the grain which Mr. Lord had brought in . . ."
- ↑ "New Sweden" in Wikipedia.
- ↑ "New Sweden" in Wikipedia.
- ↑ "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland (accessed 13 December 2008).
- ↑ "New Netherland" in Wikipedia.
- ↑ 19.0 19.1 19.2 19.3 Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- ↑ 20.0 20.1 20.2 20.3 20.4 20.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 22:42.
- This page has been accessed 3,438 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






