Delaware IntroductionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Delaware  Gotoarrow.png  Introduction
Adopt-a-wiki page
DElogo.gif This page adopted by:
DEGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from Delaware. As you read these Wiki pages, study the United States Wiki pages, which will help you understand terminology and the contents and uses of genealogical records.

Records of the Family History Library

The Family History Library has many of the records described in these Delaware Wiki paes, including:

  • All available census records
  • Most available pre-1860 church, probate, court, and land records
  • Birth and death records to about 1910

Most of the Delaware microfilms at the Family History Library were acquired between 1947 and 1949. Except for some published records, little has been added to the collection since then.

If the Family History Library has a source described in these Wiki pages, the pages list the book, microfilm, and microfiche numbers. These are preceded by FHL, the abbreviation for Family History Library. These numbers may be used to locate materials in the Family History Library and to order microfilm and microfiche atFamily History Centers.

FamilySearch Catalog

The library's records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog found at the Family History Library and at each [[Finding a Family History Center|Family History Center]. To find a record, look in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog for:

The place where your ancestor lived, such as:

UNITED STATES - CENSUS
DELAWARE - MILITARY RECORDS
DELAWARE, NEW CASTLE;;; - PROBATE RECORDS
DELAWARE, NEW CASTLE, WILMINGTON - CHURCH RECORDS

The record type you want to search, such as:

UNITED STATES - CENSUS
DELAWARE - MILITARY RECORDS
DELAWARE, NEW CASTLE - PROBATE RECORDS
DELAWARE, NEW CASTLE, WILMINGTON - CHURCH RECORDS

The page titles in this set of Wiki pages match the names of record types used in the catalog.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,319 times.