Delaware Slavery and BondageEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Delaware  Gotoarrow.png  Slavery and Bondage

Adopt-a-wiki page
DElogo.gif This page adopted by:
DEGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Slaves in Delaware are sometimes mentioned in deeds (see "Land and Property"), in wills (see "Probate Records"), in tax records (see "Taxation"), and in court order books (see the "Court Records" pages of these Delaware Wiki pages). A few parish registers ("Church Records") list slaves who attended church with their masters.

For lists of licenses to import and export slaves see Mary Fallon Richards "New Castle County Licenses to Import and Export Slaves, Issued by Superior Court, Delaware Genealogical Society Journal 1, no. 1 (October 1980):  The master is listed, with the names of the slaves, their ages, transported from where to where, dates, and
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/African American_Online_Genealogy_Records African American
Online Records
other information.

For more information about slaves see the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

DELAWARE - MINORITIES
DELAWARE - COLONIZATION
DELAWARE - EMIGRATION AND IMMIGRATION


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,927 times.