Delta County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngDelta County

Guide to Delta County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Delta County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Delta County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 11, 1883
County Seat Delta
Courthouse
Address Delta County Courthouse
501 Palmer St
Delta, CO 81416-1753
Phone: 970.874.2150
Delta County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records from 1920, marriage, death
and land records from 1883 and school census 1891-1964;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1895-1909[2]*
1883 [2]*
1895-1909 [2]*
1883
1883 [2]
1883 [2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Delta [3]

Parent County

  • 1883--Delta County was created 11 February 1883 from Gunnison County.

Neighboring Counties

Codelta.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Delta County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Delta County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

 

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delta County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Delta County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Family History Centers
Libraries
  • Hotchkiss Public Library
    149 E. Main
    Hotchkiss, CO 81419
    Telephone: 970- 672-0056
  • Cederedge Public Library
    180 SW 6th Avenue
    P.O. Box 548
    Cedaredge, CO 81413
    Phone (970) 856-3518
  • Crawford Public Library
    545 Hwy 92
    Crawford, CO 81415
    Telephone 907-912-3500
  • Delta Public Library
    211 W 6th St.
    Delta, CO 81416
    Telephone 970-874-9630
  • Paonia Public Library
    2 3rd St.
    PO Box 969
    Paonia, CO 81428
    Telephone 970-527-3470
  • Delta County Historical Society‎
    251 Meeker Street
    Delta, CO 81416-1914
    Telephone 970-874-8721‎
Museums
Societies

Delta County Historical Society‎
251 Meeker Street
Delta, CO 81416-1914
Telephone 970-874-8721‎

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

Places

Populated Places

  • Bowie
  • Cedaredge
  • Crawford
  • Delta
  • Echert
  • Grand Mesa
  • Hotchkiss
  • Lazear -- an unincorporated town
  • Orchard City -- an incorporated town which also contains the communities of Austin and Cory
  • Paonia

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Delta County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 8,437 times.