Delta County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Delta County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Delta County Courthouse
200 W Dallas Avenue
Cooper, TX 75432
County Clerk has birth, probate, and court records from 1903,
marriage records from 1870, death records from 1916 and land records
Sometimes referred to as the Vetch Capital of the World. The first settlers arrived in the early 1840's.
See an interactive map of Delta County border changes.
1899--The Delta County Courthouse at Cooper was destroyed by fire on 9 March 1899. Nearly all of the county records were stored in a fireproof vault and were saved. Records in the district clerk's office, probably records on current cases, were destroyed.
Antioch | Ben Franklin | Charleston | Cooper | Crossroads | Friendship | Horton | Jot Em Down (partly in Hunt County) | Kensing | Klondike | Lake Creek | Mt. Joy | Pacio | Pecan Gap | Prattville | Racetrack | Rattan | Yowell (partly in Hunt County)
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
- 1880 African-American Head of Households - Delta County TXGenWeb
- 1900 African-American Head of Households Delta County TXGenWeb
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Delta County Cemetery List TXGenWeb
- FindAGrave - transcriptions and photographs
- Horton Cemetery - Interment.net
- Delta County Cemeteries maps, trancriptions, information
- 1880 United States Texas Delta County Census - Delta County TXGenWeb
- 1900 United States Texas Delta County Census - Delta County TXGenWeb
- 1910 United States Texas Delta County Census - Delta County TXGenWeb
- Enumerators List 1880 – 1930 - Delta County TXGenWeb
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Delta County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Fighting Men of Delta County - USGenWeb
- Military Honorable Discharge Records - USGenWeb
- Army and Air Force Casualties - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Honor List of Dead and Missing - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Veteran's Record Book - TXGenWeb
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Delta County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News from 1925 that may include residents from Delta County.
- Obituaries of Delta County - TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Delta County Marriage Records - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths, 1977-1986 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Divorces - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 ~ FamilySearch records
- Texas Divorces 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- USGenWeb project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Delta County - TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Delta County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Cooper, TX Delta County Courthouse Fire, Mar 1899 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17957/cooper-tx-delta-county-courthouse-fire-mar-1899
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 00:47.
- This page has been accessed 15,851 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More