Denbury, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Denbury, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denbury, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Haytor
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DENBURY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Haytor, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 2½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Newton-Abbott.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Denbury, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Denbury, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1601-1625

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,180 times.