Dendron, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Dendron, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dendron, Lancashire
St. Matthew's Dendron Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1788
Bishop's Transcripts: 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

DENDRON (St Matthew) was created a chapelry in 1773 from Aldingham, union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, county of Lancaster, 2½ miles(S. S. E.) from Dalton. This place lies west-by-south of the church of Aldingham, and includes Leece. In 1652, the famous Quaker George Fox preached with some success at the chapel and noted that "no priest had ever preached in it" before this time. It was not until 1671 that a Minister was properly appointed to serve Dendron. Dendron did not become a parish church until 1892.[1]

The village is mentioned in the Domesday Book as Dene, and the name is thought to mean sheltering place for deer - it is only a coincidence that it is the same as the Greek for tree.

In 1833 a new schoolroom was built opposite the churchyard, replacing what had once been a cockpit, and in the same year the vicarage was built. The schoolroom still stands today as a meeting room and Sunday school, but was replaced in the 1870s by another, larger building some distance south of the village in which were educated most of the children from the villages of Dendron, Leece and Gleaston. This building later became a primary school, but in 1994 it ceased to be a school at all when it was amalgamated with two other small rural schools into Low Furness C of E School in Urswick; it is now a house. Beside it stands a War Memorial commemorating parishioners lost in the First World War.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Church of England

Dendron chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Aldingham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


DENDRON Chapelry (1810) Indexes
FS None None None
LOPC 1810-1873 None 1816-1873
LBMD None None None
ALDINGHAM PARISH (1539) Indexes (ancient parish containing DENDRON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1561-1756 1539-1754 None
LOPC 1638-1877 1638-1848 1638-1877
LBMD None None None
AC 1542-1695 1542-1695 1542-1695


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Dendron and comprising the whole ancient parish of Aldingham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ALDINGHAM PARISH page.


Chapelry of Dendron registers.Microfilm of original records in the Cumbria Record Office, Barrow-in- Furness, Cumbria.
Record contains births and baptisms, 1788-1812, burials, 1803-1812, baptisms, 1813-1918, marriages, 1892-1937, burials, 1816-1930, marriage banns, 1892-1977.
The chapelry of Dendron is in the parish of Aldingham.
Cumbria Record Office no.: BPR/31/I1/1-3, I2/1, I4/1, I5/1

Dendron chapelry Bishop's transcripts Microfilm of original records in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.

Dendron is a chapelry in Aldingham parish.

Baptisms, 1810-1811, 1813-1860; Burials, 1816, 1819-1821, 1824-1840, 1842, 1844-1847, 1849-1859. FHL BRITISH Film 1040315 Item 5
Baptisms, 1860-1873; Burials, 1860-1873. FHL BRITISH Film 1040490 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,992 times.