Denham St Mary (near Bury), SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Denham St Mary (near Bury), Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denham St Mary (near Bury), Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Risbridge
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Thingoe PLU
Registration District Thingoe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clare
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DENHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thingoe, hundred of Risbridge, W. division of Suffolk, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Newmarket.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Denham St Mary (near Bury), Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
Denham St Mary (near Bury), Suffolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1566-1837

FREG 1539-1850


IGI 1539-1877 1600s, 1851-1876
JOIN
1566-1837

NBI

1538-1875
TGEN 1539-1850
1566-1850
1538-1866
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474641.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013. Ambiguously described as 'Denham' with no saint's dedication.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,474 times.