Denmark GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Denmark Gotoarrow.png Genealogy

The term genealogy is used in this article and in the FamilySearch Catalog to describe records that contain family information gathered by individuals, other researchers, societies, or archives. These records may include pedigree charts, compiled information on families, correspondence, ancestor lists, research exchange files, record abstracts, and collections of original or copied documents. These can be excellent sources of information that can save you valuable time. Because they are compiled from other sources of information, they must be carefully evaluated for accuracy.

You Can Use this Record to Find...

Compiled sources of genealogy for noble families in Denmark are described in the "Nobility" section.

Major Collections and Databases

The Family History Library has several sources that contain previous research or can lead you to others who are interested in sharing family information. These sources include:

International Genealogical Index (IGI). The index provides names and vital information for millions of deceased persons who lived in Denmark. This valuable research tool lists birth, christening, and marriage dates The index for Denmark includes names extracted from parish registers by volunteers and names submitted by other researchers.

The International Genealogical Index is available on microfiche and on compact disc as part of FamilySearch™. If you are using the microfiche, you need to know which county to search. If you are using the compact disc edition, however, the computer will search the entire country for any name.

Because of patronymic naming customs, the International Genealogical Index lists Danish names under both given names and surnames. On the compact disc edition, you can search for either a given name search or surname. On the microfiche edition, the surname arrangement microfiche have black-on-white labels. The given name arrangement microfiche have black-on-orange labels.

Ancestral File. This file, part of FamilySearch™, contains family history information linked in family groups and pedigrees that have been contributed since 1979. Ancestral File contains thousands of Danish families. It can print pedigree charts, family group records, and individual summary sheets for any person in the file.

Family Group Records Collection (Archive and Patron). More than 8 million family group record forms have been microfilmed in the Family Group Records Collection. This includes many Danish families. There are two major sections: the Archive Section and the Patrons Section. The film numbers for both sections are listed in the Author/Title search of the FamilySearch Catalog under FAMILY GROUP RECORDS COLLECTION.

Family Histories

Some Danish families have produced histories or newsletters that may include genealogical information, biographies, photographs, and other excellent information. These usually include several generations of the family.

The Family History Library has many published Danish family histories and newsletters. Copies at the Family History Library are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog, in the Surname section, and in the Locality section of the parish the family was from under the subject heading "Genealogy." Not every name found in a family history will be listed in the FamilySearch Catalog. Only the major surnames discussed in the family history are included in the catalog.

See also the "Biography" section.

Beginner's Guides to Danish Research

Tips for Beginners
Finding Records of your Ancestors, Part A
A Beginner's Guide to Danish Research


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 September 2014, at 00:32.
  • This page has been accessed 5,457 times.